Sky High Yorkshire Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I grew up with Yorkie puds overseas in Africa at boarding school. These were good and it was my first time attempting to make Yorkie puds myself so decided upon this recipe over the myriad of recipes here. I gave this 4 stars for the following reasons. They did rise sky high, however, I think that the oven temperature needs to be lower. After 12 minutes in the oven, mine got super super dark, and I had to lower the temperature to 375 and let them cook for an additional 10 minutes. Did not even get to the 30 -35 minute cooking time. They were then done inside and out and nicely hollowed, although I did note that a lot of them kinda folded in on themselves so they were lopsided. I also used the drippings from the roast beef that I prepared instead of veg. oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
These are the BEST Yorkshire Puddding! They never fail and are light and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Peters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Yorkshire Puddings are wonderful. My grandma was and mother is from England. They always make it up at least 2 hour before putting into oven (to allow mixture to become room temp.) and cover the bowl with a clean tea towel, then set aside. I always add a good pinch of salt. Also, right before pouring into muffin pan whip/beat the mixture again using a slotted large spoon or whisk (whipping bubbles in mixture). This should make them rise better. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azdiamond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I've shared this recipe with many others. A favorite of everyone in the house. Watch the cooking time. Mine were done in 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Carvel, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Amazing! I've never had success with Yorkies before. Mine are usually stodgy and dull. These were crisp and beautifully risen. I did add salt to enhance the taste. Thanks for teaching an old dog a new trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Absolutely delicious! These were my first attempt at making Yorkshire pudding and everyone enjoyed the end result served alongside prime rib of beef. I used about 1 1/4 tsp of the pan drippings from the roast in the bottom of the muffin tins, and I would reduce this amount next time by probably 1/2 tsp. I did add about 1 tsp of salt to the batter and in my opinion, it needed more (this is also why I only gave the recipe 4 stars).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I made this today and came out good. I did add a pinch of salt. Do prepare your batter and let rest for an hour, room temp. Same thing with eggs and milk, room temp. What a difference it makes. My dil lived in England for quite sometime and she loved them. I served with Braised pork chops recipe from here. Double the gravy. Rice and beans, avocado. We had a feast. Ty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilmany64

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
My house still smells like smoking oil, but it was worth it! I combined the eggs and milk about an hour ahead of time and left them out on the counter to get to room temperature. I used olive oil, which didn't seem to smoke visibly. After about 15 minutes in the oven with no visible smoke, I took the muffin pan out and ladled the batter into the cups. At 30 minutes, they were perfect. I took them directly out of the oven and they stayed "sky high" throughout the meal. My guests were impressed. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This looks more like a popover recipe. Granted popovers and Yorkshire pudding are related. Yorkshire pudding should use the fat fron the roast beef pan not vegetable oil. That's where some of the flavor comes from. Use a heated pie pan to bake in. Cut in wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Any one got a good recipe for the gravy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delkc1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States