Skinny Foster Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Optional sliced almonds should be toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I really like how there is no banana liquer.. I always wanted to make a banana foster, but I never had it! Thanks for such a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by star4dance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This is a quick and easy to prepare dessert that calls for just a few, simple ingredients and yields delicious results with a beautiful presentation. Nice balance between the banana and orange flavors, with just the right hint of butterscotch flavor from the brown sugar. We'll make this again when the need for an instant gratification dessert strikes, tho’ next time we both agree we’ll add a little more sugar as it wasn’t quite sweet enough for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
A very easy, perfect dessert for our Valentine's Day. Made exactly as written; but used crushed walnuts in place of the optional almond slices. Will make this again; it is a keeper for me!! Thanks, PAMELA D, for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Elegant, simple and easy dessert which we enjoyed very much. I followed the submitter's advice and toasted the almonds. I also added a pinch of cinnamon and garnished with a cherry and chocolate mint. Thank you, Pamela D. aPROpos of nothing for sharing your recipe. Glad I voted for this Buzz Group Recipe selection on May 31, 2014. It is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Recipe Group Selection: 31, May 2014 ~ A quick dessert that is different from common desserts. The syrup has a nice flavor with the juice from the orange added. I did toast the almond slices and the crunch was a nice contrast to the ice cream and the bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Made this for the Recipe Group. We thought this was just amazing, especially for how easy it is!! We were licking our plates :) Definitely will be making this one often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This "Skinny Foster" dessert is a top-notch gourmet treat! It is super fast and easy to make to boot! I adapted the recipe to my restricted diet (dairy-free specific carbohydrate diet): I used REFINED (flavorless) coconut oil in place of butter; honey in place of sugar; and dairy-free coconut-milk-based vanilla ice cream. I also used toasted almonds, and loaded my own version with orange. My large organic orange yielded 9 ounces of juice, but I only used 4 ounces of juice assuming a standard orange. I put microplaned orange zest in the sauce (my own addition), and also added slightly-warmed orange slices to the serving dish as a garnish (my own addition) and covered them with the sauce. I though the orange slices put this dessert over the top (I love creamsicles); however, my husband felt that the orange slices did not go with the bananas. In any case, we both agreed this dessert is excellent. We will definitely make it again. Thank you PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing for sharing your recipe. [RECIPE GROUP MAY 31, 2014]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Recipe Group Selection for May 31, 2014 – I’m a little behind at getting to this recipe group selection, but I’m so glad I finally made it because it is a wonderful dessert. Fast, easy, and delicious. I also toasted the almonds as others had recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Affogato with Cold-Brewed Coffee

See how to make an amazing hot weather ice-cream and cold-coffee dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States