Skillet Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I've tried to review my own recipe before, but it never shows up...so hopefully it will now that I gave it a rating. Hope no one cares that I gave myself five stars. Since submitting this recipe, I've lost a lot of weight and had to adjust this recipe a LOT to accomodate my new diet. I now spray the skillet with olive oil cooking spray and omit the butter entirely. I also leave out all but about 2T of water and sprinkle on just enough Italian flavored bread crumbs to thicken it. (I make my own from the heels of lite bread.) Finally, I use 2% cheese. Fat free just doesn't melt the same. And I often use canadian bacon, instead of regular. Thank you for the nice reviews. I do know it isn't pretty, but I just love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
I was so skeptical---breadcrumbs, bacon and soy sauce? And then cheddar cheese? Don't let the strange ingredients scare you, this is AWESOME! We will make this many times! The only thing I will do differently next time is to decrease the butter. It was divine, but I'd like to make it healthier. Thanks for the terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
Yum, yum, yum, yum, yum! This was delish! I had a great big zucchini to use and this was the perfect recipe for it. I actually changed it a bit according to what I had on hand - ham instead of bacon, and canned tomatoes instead of fresh but it still turned out great. I used Mexican tomatoes so it had a bit of a kick and if I had to use canned again, I'd pick Italian. But I look forward to trying it again the way it was written. I used the leftovers over my pasta for dinner the next night - kind of like pasta primavera. Can't say enough about this one - it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I kind of flew by the seat of my pants on this recipe but didn't change the actual ingredients all that much. I used 1 mammoth zucchini from the farmers market, 2 strips bacon, 2 green onions, 2 cloves garlic, 1/4 C. parmesan cheese and 1/4 C. cheddar cheese. Browned the bacon, drained most of the grease and added the onions and garlic. Then added the zucchini. I let it simmer for a while and I'm really not sure why you would need to add the water at all because my zucchini added so much liquid to the skillet. I let that bubble for a while to try to release some liquid. Then added the cheeses and heated through. All in all a good dish I will make again. The boyfriend loved it so I give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
this recipe is awesome, i added a little garlic and left out the bacon. it is the perfect vegitarian meal, i also added some yellow squash and a little garlic salt as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
My wife Christy and I loved this recipe. We will be layering this mixture between lasagna noodles and try it with both a red marinara sauce and with a white alfredo sauce to see which one compliments the flavor of the vegetables. Will post and let you all know how they turn out. Thanks for a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clark Hamblen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I have made this dish twice. I decided to make it because I so much zucchini and I had all the ingrediants. It was excellent! My husband loved it. As far as the appearance, don't overcook it-- the zucchini will be mushy and hence the appearance might be unappealing. I didn't use as much butter. I will be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This would have been better had I just left well enough alone after steaming the veggies. Adding the breadcrumbs, soy sauce, and cheese ruined the dish. We preferred it before everything else got added and made it look like slop. It looked very unappetizing. I did rate this three stars however because the zucchini and tomatoes were very good after steaming them. It was the second half of the cooking process we didnt care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I have been making something similar for several years...I call it Empty the Frig Skillet. Whatever veges are left in the frig go in. We like it best with zucchini, mushrooms, red peppers, tomatoes, onions, lots of garlic, olive oil, a touch of seasoned salt, grilled chicken, 2 T. of salsa, and cheddar jack on top. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Absolutely fabulous! This dish disappeared quick. Could be a meal by itself. Will make this for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Low Carb Zucchini Pasta

Gluten-free vegetable noodles made from zucchini.

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States