Skillet Sweet and Tangy Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I thought this was just okay - nothing special. I made it exactly as written (using Uncle Ben's "converted" rice), and served it with a side of okra. I like pork chops fairly well, but this sauce was just okay. There was a good amount of sauce and maybe if I'd let it thicken I would have liked it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This was so easy to make! I didn't have white vinegar on hand, so I substituted Apple Cider Vinegar, and it still came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennell914

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
For me this was just ok.The family said it was not too bad but would not ask for it again.sorry i hate to give this type of review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Howland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
One of our favorite "standby" recipes at our house. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I've made this several times and its wonderful! I leave out the Worcestershire sauce and use canned tomato juice we make instead of tomato soup and add a little hot sauce to it. They always come out juicy and tender. I also do as another reviewer recommended and let them simmer for at least 45 min. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie O
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I had to double the recipe so along with the given ingredients I also added a tbsp of honey and a tbsp of butter maple syrup and I used apple cider vinegar. When I browned the pork chops I added fresh chopped garlic to the oil. Made a wonderful meal that all 4 of my children ate. Definitely doing it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This was a nice and easy meal; however, I probably would never make it again. The flavor was good but to me, was reminiscent of the BBQ sauce from the famous fast-food restaurant specializing in roast beef sandwiches. I used red wine vinegar instead of white because that was all I had, and added a bit of black pepper. The sauce was good over the pork chops and rice, though my boyfriend said that it wasn't a recipe he'd request again in the future - and I agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
My family loved this! I served it over brown rice (for added nutrition and color, I added shredded carrots, minced onions, and finely diced red bell pepper halfway through cooking) and my 5-yr-old asked if he could have the leftovers for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I had two problems with this recipe. I used 1/2 inch chops just like the recipe called for and followed the time of 10 minutes on low and the pork was a little dry and over-cooked in my opinion. The second problem I had was the sauce was too watery. I even took the pork chops out and continue to boil down the sauce but the end result was still too wet. The positive is the sauce is quite tasty and tangy but next time; I think after I brown the meat, I would put everything in the oven and bake it at a low temperature to keep the pork moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Tasty - good for a weeknight meal as it was easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States