Skillet Sweet and Tangy Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I have made this for thirty years - really! I have never added the sugar, vinegar or worcestershire and I also let it simmer for about 30 minutes or more. The sauce gets darker and richer as it cooks and you may have to keep adding a little extra water as you go. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I had two problems with this recipe. I used 1/2 inch chops just like the recipe called for and followed the time of 10 minutes on low and the pork was a little dry and over-cooked in my opinion. The second problem I had was the sauce was too watery. I even took the pork chops out and continue to boil down the sauce but the end result was still too wet. The positive is the sauce is quite tasty and tangy but next time; I think after I brown the meat, I would put everything in the oven and bake it at a low temperature to keep the pork moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I wanted something quick and easy and this was perfect. I did season the chops with a little seasoned salt before browning. They cooked for 15 minutes. It is amazing what tomato soup can do to a recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
These were pretty good. Easy to make. I simmered them longer than 10 minutes though. Probably about 30 minutes, while I was cooking my side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Easy, quick and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I've made this several times and its wonderful! I leave out the Worcestershire sauce and use canned tomato juice we make instead of tomato soup and add a little hot sauce to it. They always come out juicy and tender. I also do as another reviewer recommended and let them simmer for at least 45 min. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie O
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I had to double the recipe so along with the given ingredients I also added a tbsp of honey and a tbsp of butter maple syrup and I used apple cider vinegar. When I browned the pork chops I added fresh chopped garlic to the oil. Made a wonderful meal that all 4 of my children ate. Definitely doing it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
For me this was just ok.The family said it was not too bad but would not ask for it again.sorry i hate to give this type of review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Howland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
One of our favorite "standby" recipes at our house. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This was a nice and easy meal; however, I probably would never make it again. The flavor was good but to me, was reminiscent of the BBQ sauce from the famous fast-food restaurant specializing in roast beef sandwiches. I used red wine vinegar instead of white because that was all I had, and added a bit of black pepper. The sauce was good over the pork chops and rice, though my boyfriend said that it wasn't a recipe he'd request again in the future - and I agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States