Skillet Pork Chops with Potatoes and Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I needed a recipe that could cook on it's own while I was at class. I tweaked this a bit and WOW! It's very easy and super delicious. I used boneless pork loin. Browned in skillet. Layered the ingredients as instructed in a casserole dish. Deglazed skillet with beef broth and poured over potatoes and onions. Placed in a 300° oven for 2 hours covered with foil. The meat was fork tender and the sauce was to die for. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mokena, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
OK, I saw this recipe this morning, thought about it all day and came home and made it. And it managed to live up to all that expectation! A couple of little tweaks and a twist: I coated the chops in cornstarch (as I'm gluten-free), browned them, moved them aside and then sauted the onions. Then I left the onions on the BOTTOM, put the chops back on, then the potatoes, which I sliced with a mandoline, so they were nice and thin. The whole thing was simply delicious, a perfect late fall hearty dish. Going right into heavy rotation. Thanks for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNIGANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
VERY, very good!! The smell coming from my kitchen was so wonderful that I could hardly wait to eat and I was not disappointed. I am always looking for new ways to make pork chops and am so glad I came across this recipe. I did a couple of things differently but overall followed the recipe as is. I used new red potatoes because that's what I had on hand. Next I sauteed the onions and mixed them with the potatoes for layering. I added paprika, garlic powder and salt/pepper to the flour and lastly I only used 2 boullion cubes as several others said it was too salty with three. It was perfect with only 2 so I will continue to fix it this way. Thank you for a delicious, easy, one-skillet meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VickyP
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was fairly easy to make and quite tasty. I'm giving a 4 star just because I had to modify it. I only put 1 onion because 2 just seemed overpowering. I fried the pork chops, removed, added a bit of butter, then browned the onions slightly. I did the rest of the recipe as stated, but I did not put any salt and I replaced the beef granules by 1/2 salt beef concentrate. It was not salty at all and even my children liked it. My 7 year old who hates potatoes, liked the potates this way. Oh, and by the way, I used red potatoes, sliced with the peel on to get some extra vitamins! Thanks for the recipe, we'll be doing this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
this is simple and delicious. I use less boullion (2 cups) and bake in a 350 degree oven for 1 hour (pan covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
This recipe was FABULOUS. Real stick to your ribs comfort food. I did a few things different, I only used one onion (it was pretty big) and sauteed it in a little butter first for flavor. I also opted to bake it in the oven, my pan didn't have a lid so I covered it with foil, baked for about 1/2 hour then baked uncovered for another 10-15 minutes. Definitely something I will make again, it was simple and easy. I will probably add some spices next time to play around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
My husband and I loved this. The potatoes were so creamy, and the pork chops were awesome. I added tarragon, thyme, oregano and garlic powder. It was a little salty, so next time I wont add any additonal salt. And make sure that you're using a very large skillet with a good fitting lid. My skillet was too small, so the grease that spattered onto the stove started a minor fire the next day when I used that burner;) This is definitely a keeper though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I served this about 6 months ago and continue to prepare it every two weeks or so. I usually add some "Garlic Plus" for a extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
This was a really good and easy dish. It did turn out a little salty though (I left out the onions because they don't agree with my husband and that might make a difference.) The broth turns into its own gravy. I'll definitely make again provided that I can find a away to make it less salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
Pretty good. I skipped the flour part and sprinkled some onion/garlic powder when I added the potatoes. In fact, these were done quicker than stated in the recipe but who can complain about that? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States