Skillet Pork Chops with Potatoes and Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I needed a recipe that could cook on it's own while I was at class. I tweaked this a bit and WOW! It's very easy and super delicious. I used boneless pork loin. Browned in skillet. Layered the ingredients as instructed in a casserole dish. Deglazed skillet with beef broth and poured over potatoes and onions. Placed in a 300° oven for 2 hours covered with foil. The meat was fork tender and the sauce was to die for. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mokena, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
OK, I saw this recipe this morning, thought about it all day and came home and made it. And it managed to live up to all that expectation! A couple of little tweaks and a twist: I coated the chops in cornstarch (as I'm gluten-free), browned them, moved them aside and then sauted the onions. Then I left the onions on the BOTTOM, put the chops back on, then the potatoes, which I sliced with a mandoline, so they were nice and thin. The whole thing was simply delicious, a perfect late fall hearty dish. Going right into heavy rotation. Thanks for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNIGANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
VERY, very good!! The smell coming from my kitchen was so wonderful that I could hardly wait to eat and I was not disappointed. I am always looking for new ways to make pork chops and am so glad I came across this recipe. I did a couple of things differently but overall followed the recipe as is. I used new red potatoes because that's what I had on hand. Next I sauteed the onions and mixed them with the potatoes for layering. I added paprika, garlic powder and salt/pepper to the flour and lastly I only used 2 boullion cubes as several others said it was too salty with three. It was perfect with only 2 so I will continue to fix it this way. Thank you for a delicious, easy, one-skillet meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VickyP
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was fairly easy to make and quite tasty. I'm giving a 4 star just because I had to modify it. I only put 1 onion because 2 just seemed overpowering. I fried the pork chops, removed, added a bit of butter, then browned the onions slightly. I did the rest of the recipe as stated, but I did not put any salt and I replaced the beef granules by 1/2 salt beef concentrate. It was not salty at all and even my children liked it. My 7 year old who hates potatoes, liked the potates this way. Oh, and by the way, I used red potatoes, sliced with the peel on to get some extra vitamins! Thanks for the recipe, we'll be doing this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
this is simple and delicious. I use less boullion (2 cups) and bake in a 350 degree oven for 1 hour (pan covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
This recipe was FABULOUS. Real stick to your ribs comfort food. I did a few things different, I only used one onion (it was pretty big) and sauteed it in a little butter first for flavor. I also opted to bake it in the oven, my pan didn't have a lid so I covered it with foil, baked for about 1/2 hour then baked uncovered for another 10-15 minutes. Definitely something I will make again, it was simple and easy. I will probably add some spices next time to play around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
My husband and I loved this. The potatoes were so creamy, and the pork chops were awesome. I added tarragon, thyme, oregano and garlic powder. It was a little salty, so next time I wont add any additonal salt. And make sure that you're using a very large skillet with a good fitting lid. My skillet was too small, so the grease that spattered onto the stove started a minor fire the next day when I used that burner;) This is definitely a keeper though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I served this about 6 months ago and continue to prepare it every two weeks or so. I usually add some "Garlic Plus" for a extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
This was a really good and easy dish. It did turn out a little salty though (I left out the onions because they don't agree with my husband and that might make a difference.) The broth turns into its own gravy. I'll definitely make again provided that I can find a away to make it less salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
Pretty good. I skipped the flour part and sprinkled some onion/garlic powder when I added the potatoes. In fact, these were done quicker than stated in the recipe but who can complain about that? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 434) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States