Skillet Pork Chops with Potatoes and Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
The pork chops were great. Very tender. But the onions on top were tasteless. I don't think the broth covered them at all. I would make this again with these changes: Salt the potatoes more than the 1/2 tsp mixed with the cheese. Remove the pork chops after browning and saute the onions in the oil and drippings before layering. I may put the potatoes on the bottom to give them a little color as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndie Stevens
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Easy and delicious, and the cooking smells create anticipation from everyone in the house! Make sure to use your larger skillet. After browning the meat as directed, I removed it from the skillet, added 1 tsp olive oil and sauteed 1 large onion until opaque, stirring occasionally. I removed the onion, replaced the meat in the skillet and layered the ingredients as directed (except for using 3 tsp beef bullion granules stirred into 1 cup of hot water). Covered and cooked as directed. The broth thickened nicely and the potatoes were perfect. I served this with Hawaiian sweet rolls, whole kernel corn and cottage cheese and had no left overs! This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Easy and delicious. Followed the recipe almost exactly, but only used 2 bouillon cubes. Will leave out the added salt next time as I don't think it needs it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This is great! I made it with chicken boulion b/c my husband doesn't eat beef. I also didnt use any additional salt. I eye-balled the parm & pepper, but this is great. My very picky 5 & 6 year old kids ate it. I would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie Altman Ewald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Easy & delicious. I used 2 cubes instead of 3 as suggested by others. I love to make smothered pork chops and this recipe is a much healthier alternative without compromising the flavor. I will definitely make again. Thanks chefjenwin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PickettFence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Very good. Made as written except subbed white wine for the lemon juice and used all purpose potatoes. Very tender and yummy chops with a bit of gravy. Hubby loves anything with gravy and was pleased with this dinner. My only change for next time would be to saute the onions first in olive oil or butter to give them better flavor and season them with salt, pepper and maybe a bit of thyme. The bouillion that I use is the powdered salt free kind so the salt wouldn't be overkill if added to the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
We LOVED this. The only change I made was to sauté the onions first in 1 tablespoon butter and 1 tablespoon evoo. Then when it was all layered, I topped it all with a little more parmasean cheese. First time that I have made pork chops and they were not dry! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I loved this recipe! I did add the onion on the bottom then layered chops, sliced carrots and potatoes. So moist and flavorful. Adding it to my rotation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBYLN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I'm a complete noob in the kitchen; my usual territory is the barbecue, pizza delivery or the drive thru. This recipe was simple and easy to follow and it made some of the best pork chops I've ever eaten. A couple of tweaks in spices with the flour and other than that I prepared it as shown. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Made this for dinner last night - absolutely delicious!! I made it in my electric skillet with the onions on the bottom, then the potatoes and then the chops. I used canned, sliced potatoes and didn't add the lemon juice. Simmered it for an hour on 300 degrees and not only did it smell heavenly, it tasted out of this world. Even my "gourmet cook" brother loved it! Definitely a keeper and will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States