Skillet Pork Chops with Potatoes and Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Very tasty. As another reviewer suggested, brown the pork shops first then remove from pan. Saute the sliced onion and about 3 minced garlic cloves for 5 minutes. When softened add the sliced potatoes. I also added 2 sliced carrots to add a little color plus 4 small sliced frying pepper (the long light green ones) for additional flavor. Topped with the pork chops and let simmer till everything was tender. Any remaining flour was added last to thicken the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Oh. My. God. This is fantastic. I made this for date night, and one of the nicest things is, after the 40 minutes of cooking I turned off the stove and it sat for 30 minutes no problem. Chops were tender, made a nice gravy, potatoes were perfectly seasoned and creamy. I was in a hurry and forgot the lemon juice in the bouillon, and it apparently didn't take anything away from it. Huge hit, easy to make, and you don't have to rush to serve it when it's done. I had no issues with saltiness and I used the full amount called for. The type of bouillon I use is called "better than bouillon" paste, has no MSG, and is generally just as salty as regular cubes. I used the cheapest bone-in pork chops available, and unpeeled red skinned potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff P

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
My boyfriend and I really liked this dish. It is very easy to make once everything is in the skillet...basically, you leave it alone for 40 minutes, so that is super easy. I might use a little less oil next time because it kind of makes the potatoes a little greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah1015

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Most moist and tender chops I've had in a while. I halved the chops, potatoes, and onion, but kept all the other ingredients the same (I did cut the salt and only use 2 bullion cubes, which was perfect saltiness). This is my go to recipe for chops from now on, you will not regret using it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Our family really enjoyed this. I did add a bit of tarragon, paprika and garlic powder (to suit our family's taste). Quick and easy to make, plus clean plates all around. Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neerland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Fabulous, a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I have made this recipe many times. The first time as written, then with some changes. I mix Montreal Steak Seasoning with the flour to coat the pork chops; brown the pork chops, remove from pan and saute the onions and minced garlic. Add the pork chops on top of the onions, add the Parmesan, add the potatoes on top of the pork chops, add more Parmesan and pour lemon juice mixture (sometimes I use chicken bouillon) over all. When potatoes are soft, I remove potatoes and pork chops and add a slurry of corn starch and water to thicken the sauce. When it has thickened, I add back the pork chops and potatoes. I do not add any salt to this dish. There is plenty with the bouillon and the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brandon, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Everyone in the family loved it even my mother that is very hard to please. I did us less salt. Glad I did cause it would be very salty. Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheryl
Photo by Sheller226
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
The pork was super moist...but there was a lot of flavor lost because keeping the lid on for the duration of the cooking time resulted in this being watery in the end. I added lemon pepper, basil, and onion powder to the flour. Deglazed the pan with the juice of two lemons, and threw in a handful of diced celery and julienned carrots because I needed to use them up. I will definitely try this again, with the change of allowing it to cook covered for the first 15 minutes, then venting the lid so the sauce will reduce and the potatoes/onions will have the opportunity to carmelize. My house does indeed smell AMAZING even two hours later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
delicious!!! takes some prep time but then you just let it cook..floured the pork chops with flour, thyme, garlic powder, black pepper, tarragon, and paprika...browned them in oil olive in skillet..put them on a bed of onions in 13*9 pan, put 2 beef bullion cubes, 1 cup of water and lemon juices in skillet and cooked while getting pork bits off...grated parmesan on pork and poured juice on top...put sliced potatoes on top of that and grated parmesan and black pepper and cooked at 350* for an hour covered
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 422) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States