Skillet Mac and Cheese & Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I used a standard stainless steel skillet instead of the recommened non-stick. I think that deglazing the pan added some additional flavor although the color of the dish wasn't as pretty. I also added some salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Had to tweak it a little bit used a roux instead. It was okay I think that my own original mac & cheese recipe is better and I'll just add the sausage to that instead next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I made a couple tweaks too. In addition to using vegan cheese and making a roux and creating the cheese sauce that way, I subbed in vegan kielbasa (which I pre cooked in sauerkraut) and skipped the breadcrumbs. I love how versatile this recipe was, and it gave me so many ideas. Different cheeses, different proteins, added spices, etc. I never know what to do with kielbasa besides just grilling or cooking in sauerkraut. I never would've thought to put it in mac and cheese or to even serve it WITH mac and cheese. It's a nice jumping off point, and very kid friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
My family all liked this recipe. I did bake it in the oven at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes. This gave the bread crumbs a crunch my family liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Birdsong Palmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This was very good! I love smoky flavors and I love creamy cheesy pasta, so this was perfect for me! I didn't add the toasted breadcrumbs because I wanted to keep it super creamy. And I didn't follow the directions for making the cheese sauce because another reviewer complained that it was soupy. So I made the cheese sauce by starting a roux with 2 Tbls. butter and 2 Tbls. flour. Then added the evaporated milk, stirring until thick, then added in a 8 oz. pkg. of shredded cheddar jack cheese. This worked perfectly! Thanks Johnsonville for another winning recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I used medium cheddar only as the cheese, and this was an easy weeknight meal for us-I had bulk Johnsonville mild Italian sausage that I cooked and crumbled to add instead of the kielbasa. A repeat recipe for sure-loved it, and my family scarfed it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I love macaroni and cheese! I usually make a family recipe, but this is a nice, quick, cook and serve meal. Substituted bratwurst, which was good. Loved the crunch of the breadcrumbs (used Panko.) Cook this in your big skillet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
better if you drain off the milk/water mixture before adding the cheese, then thinning with milk as needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Easy to make and yummy! I won't use so many bread crumbs next time. I just sprinkle them on as I serve the dish. I don't want to reheat it with bread crumbs already on it. I want them fresh! I won't need one cup. I used garlic herb prepared ones. I loved being able to cook the pasta until it was done right there on the stove. It's very cheesy. I had to add milk at the end to get it to the right consistency. I think it was because I used a shredded mozz & provolone blend for part of the cheese because it's what I had on-hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Pretty gross following the recipe... Probably making a roux would fix it like someone suggested. Unless off brand cheese makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States