Skillet Mac and Cheese & Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This was OK. I did make a few tweaks though - so the 3 star rating is for the original recipe. I "fixed" this by making a roux first with 1 Tbsp of butter + 1 Tbsp flour. Then I whisked in the evaporated milk and added the cheese to make the sauce. Then added in macaroni that I cooked separately. I skipped the breadcrumbs entirely. Kielbasa and mac & cheese are two of my favorite comfort foods, together they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This is so easy and a great comfort food! Who doesn't love mac & cheese? I served it with green beans and corn muffins. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This was pretty good. I skipped the bread crumbs on top because I felt like it didn't need any. I think next time I'll kick the spice level up and triple the hot sauce required. I feel like the spice and the Kielbasa will go great together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Am I the only one or nobody else finds the amount of water and milk a little strange in here. The pasta is never strained out........are we making a soup here, landed me in a soup. Anyway, I eventually baked and ate mushy mac and cheese.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
We added a diced onion and a clove of garlic to the sausage. Also subbed 2C broth for part of the water and added some frozen peas and carrots to the simmering pasta. Easy to make, turned out good; very cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I saw what others have said and followed a combination of them. Came out pretty good, kids loved it. Used 1.25lbs of kielbasa, made a butter reaux, added the evaporated milk and the already cooked pasta, in order to keep the creamy consistency I used chicken broth (just added it while still simmering. I did "fry" up some bread crumbs, for those of you who are knocking it, just sprinkling some on top of each plate, don't let them get soggy (this was the kids favorite part) and you have to fry them in the sausage grease. I'm stuffed now, I'll quit typing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
We enjoyed this but it was a little too cheesy for the littles in this house if that's even possible. Has good flavor and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This was very good! I love smoky flavors and I love creamy cheesy pasta, so this was perfect for me! I didn't add the toasted breadcrumbs because I wanted to keep it super creamy. And I didn't follow the directions for making the cheese sauce because another reviewer complained that it was soupy. So I made the cheese sauce by starting a roux with 2 Tbls. butter and 2 Tbls. flour. Then added the evaporated milk, stirring until thick, then added in a 8 oz. pkg. of shredded cheddar jack cheese. This worked perfectly! Thanks Johnsonville for another winning recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I used medium cheddar only as the cheese, and this was an easy weeknight meal for us-I had bulk Johnsonville mild Italian sausage that I cooked and crumbled to add instead of the kielbasa. A repeat recipe for sure-loved it, and my family scarfed it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Interesting way to make macaroni and cheese. I did add a teaspoon each of onion/garlic powders and a squirt of dijon mustard. Both my kids thought it would have been better without the bread crumbs on top. I'd make this again but I think I would play with the recipe a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States