Skillet Mac and Cheese & Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I tried this recipe and it came out okay. I would definitely make it again but I think it needs margerine and I would substitute Pepper jack cheese for the Monterey. The amount of cheese was a bit much so I now have some unused cheese to use Also, I didn't have any cornstarch on hand so I used flour instead. I didn't notice the recipe called for fresh breadcrumbs until later. I used the prepared kind, which probably affected the flavor and a cup of it was way too much just to sprinkle on the top. Next time I would add chopped green peppers and more seasoning to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This was OK. I did make a few tweaks though - so the 3 star rating is for the original recipe. I "fixed" this by making a roux first with 1 Tbsp of butter + 1 Tbsp flour. Then I whisked in the evaporated milk and added the cheese to make the sauce. Then added in macaroni that I cooked separately. I skipped the breadcrumbs entirely. Kielbasa and mac & cheese are two of my favorite comfort foods, together they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
We added a diced onion and a clove of garlic to the sausage. Also subbed 2C broth for part of the water and added some frozen peas and carrots to the simmering pasta. Easy to make, turned out good; very cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This was pretty good. I skipped the bread crumbs on top because I felt like it didn't need any. I think next time I'll kick the spice level up and triple the hot sauce required. I feel like the spice and the Kielbasa will go great together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
We enjoyed this but it was a little too cheesy for the littles in this house if that's even possible. Has good flavor and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This is so easy and a great comfort food! Who doesn't love mac & cheese? I served it with green beans and corn muffins. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
The recipe was okay...However, man the sausage was great. My store only had the andouille sausage. SO that's what I had to use. As I followed as best to a T as possible, the bread crumb stage, needed a little bit of butter to make the bread crumbs golden, as my sausage slices didn't produce enough. The next steps were fine, but when I added my cheese at the very end...it was soo thick and stringy that I really really needed to have some butter or more liquids to thin it. However as it stands my family totally enjoyed it to death. Oh I could have easily used another package of sausage or taken the time to slice each slice in half, to have more meat through out. Other then that, I was asked to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I tried this recipe and was it ever GREAT!! This has now become ANOTHER tradition in my household!! Thanks for this WONDERFUL dish!! I would have included a photo but..........The dish was gone before I remembered to take a pic, oh well, maybe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Mallory Bowman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Creve Coeur, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Am I the only one or nobody else finds the amount of water and milk a little strange in here. The pasta is never strained out........are we making a soup here, landed me in a soup. Anyway, I eventually baked and ate mushy mac and cheese.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This is great, but I would skip the hot sauce and the bread crumbs. This also works great with smoked sausage/little smokies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States