Skillet Ham, Cabbage and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
We liked it, husbands response "This is very good" I made it as written, but did add ham with onions. Used 8oz package of cubed ham and home canned potatoes. It is easy and good. Served with green beans and cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This is one of those recipes that you just aren't sure about while cooking, until the last minute when it all comes together... And then you are soo glad you made it! I made this exactly as the recipe calls for except I used the bag of chopped cabbage. It is fantastically delicious and the perfect dinner for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by suzy
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Family loved this recipe' will definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Husband loved this. I made per a suggestion and put onion, potato and kielbasa in a large cast iron skillet. Cooked that for 10 min or so and added water and cabbage. Covered and cooked for 10 more minutes. I used vegetable magic for seasonings and nothing else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I've been making versions of this for years. I've use ham or a sliced sausage, chicken stock in place of the water, cube the potatoes rather than slice and the cabbage is always the last thing I add because I prefer it with a little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Great simple recipe. I used chicken soup stock instead of salt and as an afterthought, threw in some shredded carrots. Positive my husband will love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Other than needing a little more salt - this was an excellent recipe and very simple. I think I may try shredding cheddar cheese over the top and putting in the oven til melted - bet it would be awesome! My whole family loved it and compliments were flying. Now that doesn't happen every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
My dad used to make something similar to this when I was younger, except he put the ham, potatoes, cabbage, onion and green beans in a stock pot and covered with water, put a couple bay leaves and a ham hock in it and let it simmer for a couple hours. We would eat it with corn bread. This recipe is fantastic and tastes just like my dads. I did add a couple bay leaves to this and added a few good shakes of season salt, paprika, pepper and garlic powder. Thank you Priscilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This has made it into my family's weekly rotation... So easy and yummy! Great recipe as written, but sometimes I add extra cabbage or use chicken stock instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Great recipe! I was looking for ways to use a cabbage from my garden. The only change I made was adding chopped green pepper to the onion. Even my 6yo and 8yo gave this recipe a 5 out of 5 and they are not fans of mixed casserole type dishes!! This is my first review even though I've been using this site for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States