Skillet Ham, Cabbage and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
At the risk of sounding like I have nothing better to do, I made this 2 ways tonight. One way was per recipe, with finely chopped cabbage, (for my kids who "claim" not to like it, they liked it this time) and the second was with quartered cabbage, & with fresh polish sausage from my AWESOME butcher (my mom always told me to "make friends with the butcher" & it has paid off) for my husband & I. WOW, I halved the butter & cooked the sausage with the potatoes & onion then added the cabbage for 5 min. GREAT! I had a nice long lunch out with my sisters today & this was a nice easy meal to make up lost time with!! The kids enjoyed their version & we enjoyed ours as well..sooo easy! Thanks Priscilla!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
279 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
This was very, very good. The only thing I did a little different was put the ham in with the onions and the butter....my thinking was that the ham would season the cabbage and potatoes. It was DELICIOUS! When I told my kids what I was cooking they said they wanted peanut butter sandwiches, but I made them taste it. They each ate a huge portion and said, "Mom this is so good! I didn't know I liked cabbage!" Thank you for an excellent, easy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This was amazing...save yourself some time and use a can of potatoes. I used chicken broth instead of the water and added it as needed so cabbage wouldn't stick or burn. In stead of dashes I seasoned liberally with salt, pepper, paprika, and seasoning salt periodically as potatoes and cabbage cooked. I doubled the amount of ham and cut into small pieces so there was ham in every bite. This was absolutely delish! My son is my biggest critic ...he had not one bad comment (rare thing) and said "hmm, this is really good"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rolanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
this recipe is quick, easy and takes alterations well. i took others' advice and browned the potatoes first with the seasoning, then added about 1/2 can of chicken broth let it simmer then near the end of the cooking time, added the ham. just before taking the pan of the heat, i added a handful of shredded cheese. my husband ate the whole thing and raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
We loved this! The first time I made it, my "medium heat" is apparently a little too hot with only 1/4 cup water and therefore, left unattended a little too long resulted in a burnt mess. HOWEVER, I tried it again today, using 3/4 cup chicken broth instead of 1/4c water, (which I started with 1/2c and added the remaining as needed) and turned out great! I also sprinkled all-season salt, garlic and onion powder to taste when I added the potatoes. At the end, I sprinkled about 1/2c sharp cheddar cheese overall. We all thought this had awesome taste and I would make it again! Not very elegant but it sure is filling! Thanks Priscilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
I enjoyed this recipe with some slight changes. I used chicken broth instead of water as several suggested and kielbasa instead of ham. Also to quicken up the preparation time, I used a can of diced potatoes instead of chopping up the recommended number of spuds. And this way I didn't have to worry about over cooking to get the potatoes tender. Added some pepper for little more flavor. I will be making this again. I've also found after making this a few times, it taste better the next day as leftovers. So now, I make it, allow it to cool then put it in the fridge to eat the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAELITH
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
I cubed the potatoes (slices fall apart with all the stirring involved in this recipe), used a half-cup of chicken broth, and added dashes of creole seasoning, black pepper, salt, garlic powder and paprika. And I added the potatoes and ham right at the beginning, cooking everything until the cabbage wasn't crunchy. Pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This is something I've made for years. I use Polish kielbasa, potatoes, onions, cabbage, beef broth and always add a can of Cream of Mushroom soup. It's "soul food"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Waleska, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
Left out the onion and followed many of the previous suggestions - used broth instead of water (only needed 1/2 cup), used a smoked cooked ham, and added shredded cheddar. Also, I fried the potatoes and ham before adding to the cabbage in butter, with salt, pepper and garlic powder. This was a fantastic meal - I did not think I would like it at all and loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I used one can chicken broth instead of water, and replaced season salt with salt free seasoning (figured the ham and broth would add plenty of salt). It was quite good, we'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States