Skillet Ham, Cabbage and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Easy, tasty meal when you want something 1 pan and pretty quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Good recipe, even 2 of the 3 kids liked (fussy one would barely try it) substituted chicken broth for water though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I tried this recipe because my husband can't eat traditional corned beef and cabbage. I subbed deli corned beef for the ham, and it came out great. Wonderful idea. I cut the potatoes in the food processor. I think next time I will add some shredded carrot to make it even more traditional. Thank you Priscilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
We were all a little skeptical but we loved this! Used chicken broth instead of water and it was excellent! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I changed a few things but still really good! I cooked the potatoes with the onions and held off putting in the cabbage until the potatoes were nearly done. I don't like overdone cabbage and the potatoes needed to be cooked. I also used little red potatoes instead of the big sliced potatoes. I substituted chardonnay for the water-just because it's chardonnay! Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSCOMPTON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yelm, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
So happy I stumbled upon this recipe on a blog. I changed the order and I think the recipe turned out less mushy than it would have with the original recipe. Fried the potatoes in olive oil first til browned, then added onion and ham. Paprika, salt, garlic, and pepper. Then took advice of other reviewers and used 1/2 C chicken stock, added the cabbage, covered it til tender. We loved it! Ground it up in the magic bullet for our baby too! It was a hit and we will make it again with these changes/additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReSoNate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I had a lot of leftover cabbage after making fillled cabbages and i was looking for a good recipe. This is great - I used about 1.5 cups of chicken broth and added chopped carrots. Once everything was cooked i scooped it into a baking dish. There was about 1/2 cup of broth remaining in the skillet, so I added 1 tbsp butter to the pan and reduced heat to low, I then whisked together 1 tbsp flour with 1/3 cup milk and added it to the pan, stirring continuously. keep stirring and sprinkle in the cheddar cheese (1/2 cup or more) to make a cheese sauce - then pour it over the ingredients in the baking dish. Top with bread crumbs and either bake & serve right away or put it in the freezer for an easy bake meal later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I usually make this dish with sausage but I liked the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
this was good as written. all I did is add garlic. This is equally good with smoked sausage instead of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
We loved this...ages 2 through 62! I did use smoked paprika and think it was a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States