Skillet Ham, Cabbage and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I added a full tsp of garlic salt and 1/2 tsp of paprika, plus some ground pepper. I definitely used chicken stock rather than water. Additionally, we didn't have any ham, so I used chicken. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Dh and i made this yesterday, it was so good! I doubled the recipe just cause, and im glad i did or their would not have been enough to go around!. This is a keeper. Oh we didnt have any ham but it was still good without it. We added 2 beef bulion cubes instead. We will add ham next time. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monkey's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ironton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pedro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Great recipe as is - or really can cut down on some calories by omitting the margarine and just cooking the onions w/the cabbage. Also fried it up the next morning with some scrambled eggs:) YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I love cabbage. This recipe is simple and delicious. The only change I made was to use broth instead of water and used about 3/4 cup. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
tastes ok but looks awful. I punched up the spice with Slap Yo Mama cajun seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Taff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Needed to add way more salt to the potatoes. Then had to put cheese on top to tempt the kids into eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Very good flavor! I did substitute the broth for the water as well and think it made it that much better! It was a little mushy, and didn't look appetizing but the taste was definitely over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Definitely one of the better ways to eat cabbage! I put a frozen gruyere stuffed sausage in to sautee with the onion and left it in until the end...that provided a yummier flavor than the ham would've (which I left out). at the end, I cut up the sausage and added a touch of red pepper. I would suggest checking after 20 minutes though, because mine ran out of water ad scourched the bottom of the pan a little. My husband really enjoyed it, though he tends to nit like cabbage much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This was Delicious!!! I loved the fact that it only required one pan... I baked the potatoes in the microwave most of the way and then sliced them before adding because I was afraid they wouldnt cook fast enough in the skillet, other than that I followed it exactly. I will be definetly be making this again and again. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I had extra cabbage left over some some colcannon that I made, and I had a bag full of baby red potato's so I found this recipe and decided to just use some smoked deli ham slices that I had in my fridge...I was skeptical about how it would turn out but it was very filling and wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States