Skillet Ham, Cabbage and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Made this for dinner tonight. Everyone loved it. I put it all in a crockpot to cook all day. The only thing I added was a little garlic and dried mustard as other suggested. Don't think that would've made it a 4* without the two ingredients. Came out delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Loved it!!! In order to save calories and time I changed a couple of things. Used olive oil spray for the onions. I bought the frozen already chopped up onions so I saved some time. As others suggested, I used broth, canned potatoes and rather than cut cabbage I bought a bag of slaw mix. I also opted for turkey ham. I like flavor, so I seasoned heavily - kosher salt, paprika, garlic, etc. At the last minute, I threw in some crushed red pepper. My cooking time was much less, but the outcome was tasty!!! This is going into the "Family Favorites" file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This wasn't bad but it wasn't good either. It was very plain. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
For a very simple, healthy, one dish meal, it's okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Yummy! I also followed the suggestions of others... chicken broth instead of water, and added ground mustard and garlic salt to the list of spices. I cooked the potatoes and ham with the onions in the skillet before adding liquid,and nothing came out mushy. I also used pre-boiled red cabbage which turns purple when you cook it and it made quite a stunning dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
One of my favorite recipes, very easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This was an easy supper, but just a little bland. The potatoes definitely need to cook longer than 5-10 minutes and I sliced them pretty thin. I used chicken broth instead of water. Served with mustard to give it some zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Easy, tasty meal when you want something 1 pan and pretty quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Good recipe, even 2 of the 3 kids liked (fussy one would barely try it) substituted chicken broth for water though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I tried this recipe because my husband can't eat traditional corned beef and cabbage. I subbed deli corned beef for the ham, and it came out great. Wonderful idea. I cut the potatoes in the food processor. I think next time I will add some shredded carrot to make it even more traditional. Thank you Priscilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States