Skillet Ham, Cabbage and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This was SO good - my husband was laughing at me because I kept exclaiming how good it was! I used leftover Honeybaked Ham - don't know if that made a difference or not, and yukon gold taters. I also used chicken broth instead of water. I threw the cabbage in, then put the taters in pretty quickly after and let it get pretty mushy before adding the ham. I didn't measure the spices, and I added a little garlic powder & cayenne. I also used only half a head of cabbage because I misread how much it called for. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by archie8kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I am always looking for a way to use leftover ham. In an attempt to use less sodium in our diet, I made blackened seasoning without the salt and used 2 tablespoons of that. Quick comfort food at it's finest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Very Good, But watch out for salt, You may not want to add season salt if the ham your using is salty. I can't believe someone added ketchup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Farmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
We totally LOVED this dish. My only rec is to add some green peppers to the dish. It just added a little extra zing that my family adored. They could not get enough of this, and ask for it on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This was better than I expected. What made it really good was that my picky fiance helped himself to it as well... twice! And he's never eaten cooked cabbage before! I think using broth instead of water makes a big difference in the flavour (which was still very subtle). I even spooned extra of the "sauce" over my portion. This dish is hearty, filling, yet it was not heavy at all. A perfect pre-workout lunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha Church

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Excellent recipe! I actually cooked this in my new electric pressure cooker, and it literally took 6 minutes. I cooked it in about a cup of chicken broth, and it was quite delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Englewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
The only change I made to this recipe was using chicken broth instead of water. It turned out very tasty - my kids and mother in law loved it, and I found it to be very satisfying. My husband isn't a cabbage fan, and while he ate it, he just didn't love this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I found this dish bland and tasteless. I followed the recipe exactly. I even read several reviews wondering how others might "kick" it up, but no one did so I decided to give it a go, as is. We ate it...adding ketchup, which helped. Different strokes, I guess!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
added celery to the onions, and also added bacon bits, and garlic powder. Substituted cajun seasoning for season salt & added extra ham. Very easy, quick dish, and easy to modify/personalize. A keeper! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States