Skillet Ham, Cabbage and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I have made this recipes for years via skillet or crockpot. When I cook in the crockpot I use one can of chicken broth. I use link sausage, not ham. Easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I hardly ever make anything by a recipe, and this was no exception; however, this is a great base to build on and really make a dish you love. I cut up 2 onions (love 'em) and a link of smoked beef sausage and sauteed them in butter, using beef broth for the cooking liquid. I also diced the potatoes and parboiled them a bit ahead of time, adding them near the end of cooking so they soaked up the broth and became crispy in spots. I will definitely build on this and perhaps add tomato sauce or cream and cheese on top. Excellent and very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisalubell
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I just made this. Yum! I made three changes. First, I used about a cup of water. Second, I used chicken boullion instead of salt and paprika. The third was cooking the potatoes and ham right along with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisalubell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
added 3 carrots and used ham broth instead of water. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This is a rather regular but very homely dish. It reminds me of a dish my grandmother makes when I was little and brought back good memories. Sentimental dish for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
What a nice change of pace from the weekly dinner menu! I was looking for something different and this answered the call! Easy to make, smells fantastic and tastes even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I made this but put the potatoes and cabbage in together after the onions. I also added garlic powder to the onions and then also used it in the potatoe mixture. I added alot more water as I made this for 10 servings. My kids loved it and they are picky eaters. Will try again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinbige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesville, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Oh my! This was sooo good! Like others suggested, I made a couple minor changes. I used a cup of water with Knorrs (chicken) bouillon and an onion cube (gives the flavor without the texture of onion). At the end I added some shredded cheddar cheese and it was amazing! I didn't even use any seasoning (because of the bouillon/onion cube) and it was outstanding. I will never make it differently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOI1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Made this for dinner tonight. Everyone loved it. I put it all in a crockpot to cook all day. The only thing I added was a little garlic and dried mustard as other suggested. Don't think that would've made it a 4* without the two ingredients. Came out delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States