Skillet Ham, Cabbage and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by lisalubell
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I just made this. Yum! I made three changes. First, I used about a cup of water. Second, I used chicken boullion instead of salt and paprika. The third was cooking the potatoes and ham right along with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisalubell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
added 3 carrots and used ham broth instead of water. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This is a rather regular but very homely dish. It reminds me of a dish my grandmother makes when I was little and brought back good memories. Sentimental dish for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
What a nice change of pace from the weekly dinner menu! I was looking for something different and this answered the call! Easy to make, smells fantastic and tastes even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I made this but put the potatoes and cabbage in together after the onions. I also added garlic powder to the onions and then also used it in the potatoe mixture. I added alot more water as I made this for 10 servings. My kids loved it and they are picky eaters. Will try again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinbige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesville, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Oh my! This was sooo good! Like others suggested, I made a couple minor changes. I used a cup of water with Knorrs (chicken) bouillon and an onion cube (gives the flavor without the texture of onion). At the end I added some shredded cheddar cheese and it was amazing! I didn't even use any seasoning (because of the bouillon/onion cube) and it was outstanding. I will never make it differently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOI1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Made this for dinner tonight. Everyone loved it. I put it all in a crockpot to cook all day. The only thing I added was a little garlic and dried mustard as other suggested. Don't think that would've made it a 4* without the two ingredients. Came out delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Loved it!!! In order to save calories and time I changed a couple of things. Used olive oil spray for the onions. I bought the frozen already chopped up onions so I saved some time. As others suggested, I used broth, canned potatoes and rather than cut cabbage I bought a bag of slaw mix. I also opted for turkey ham. I like flavor, so I seasoned heavily - kosher salt, paprika, garlic, etc. At the last minute, I threw in some crushed red pepper. My cooking time was much less, but the outcome was tasty!!! This is going into the "Family Favorites" file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This wasn't bad but it wasn't good either. It was very plain. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States