Skillet Ham, Cabbage and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Second time I've made it, added chicken broth 8oz and a little more of the cabbage and ham. Plus added sliced carrots, everyone raved about it. For sure a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I am not good at following directions so this was my variation. I chopped and fried some bacon then used the fat to start my onions. I had to add a little butter because the bacon did not produce enough. I used new or red potatoes sliced. I like stuff on the spicy side but my wife does not so I put crushed red pepper on my serving but not in the dish. I seasoned with salt and pepper. The rest was on point and by the recipe. When it was ready I crushed and sprinkled the bacon back into the dish. I had bought a whole ham butt end with the bone. I boned it out and put the bone in a pot of blackeyed peas. The cabbage and ham was served with a side of blackeyes for our New Years dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Having found a bag of sliced ham in the freezer I set out to find something to fix with it, with ingredients I had on hand. This recipe proved to be a winner with my DH and me. It is a no frills meal that tastes wonderful and was very filling. I didn’t change anything in the recipe, except that my ham was sliced, rather than cubed. But, next time I will add some Cajun seasoning or a little cayenne pepper to spice it up a bit. I served this with a simple salad and a loaf of crusty bread. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Good comfort food! I diced my potatoes with a splash of canola oil and spices to taste and baked them instead, just out of personal preference. I added them to the cooked cabbage mixture, which made dinner on the table in less than 25 minutes. I call that a success for a weeknight! I didn't have smoked ham this time, but would defintely use that next time to amp up the flavor a bit. I'd love to experiment with this and try bacon, smoked turkey sausage or even flavored chicken sausage. This is definitely going on the fall/winter dinner rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Loved it! I also used the chicken broth instead of H20. I sliced the potatoes as in recipe but next time may choose to dice. Flavors are amazing together and plan to incorporate this into a weekly dish thru the winter season. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Lafferty Broccardi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
very good! i will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Faria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I fixed this tonight because it has everything we love in it, but no taste. I made it according to directions but used broth instead of water. So many people liked it, I don't understand that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This was very good and very fast and easy to make. My husband and I really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shaaronie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I have been eating this dish for a long time,but never cooked like this. It was fabulous, will always use this recipe forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Gap, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by CallMeDonnaReed
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I had forgotten how good this dish is, but I needed something fast. A few helpful hints: (1) NO WAY does this require an hour except for very novice cooks; mine took 35 minutes. Chop your cabbage while the onions are cooking; slice your potatoes (thin) while the cabbage is cooking; cut up the ham while the potatoes are cooking. I'm sure you see how this works. (2) This needs more salt; the amount depends on how salty your ham is. I added perhaps 1/4 t. of seasoned salt and 1/4 t. of plain salt and I also used chicken broth instead of water, as others here have suggested. (3) I used olive oil instead of margarine, and also melted 2 T unsalted butter over the lot when I was done. Delicious, comforting flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States