Skillet Ham, Cabbage and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Used Chinese five spice instead of seasoned salt and paprika. Used vegetable broth instead of water. VERY tasty and succulent even! I'd make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
The entire family likes the flavor of this dish. After making it a number of times, I have cut the amount of cabbage down to half a head. The kids don't like the stringy soft cabbage as much as the hubby and I. They're more likely to eat this if there's less cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I loved, loved this recipe and will be making it again. Very tasty and I love that it isn't all just boiled together. What a great meal, thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Easy, delicious comfort food. Save calories and leave out the butter - I did, plus used ham with NO fat, and it was yummy. Heavy on the paprika, and added garlic. So good, hubby stuffed himself on it. Also, pre-cooked my potatoes in the microwave and tossed in with the already simmering concoction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I am a 77 year old man learning to cook and this was a easy to fix and delicious.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Second time I've made it, added chicken broth 8oz and a little more of the cabbage and ham. Plus added sliced carrots, everyone raved about it. For sure a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I am not good at following directions so this was my variation. I chopped and fried some bacon then used the fat to start my onions. I had to add a little butter because the bacon did not produce enough. I used new or red potatoes sliced. I like stuff on the spicy side but my wife does not so I put crushed red pepper on my serving but not in the dish. I seasoned with salt and pepper. The rest was on point and by the recipe. When it was ready I crushed and sprinkled the bacon back into the dish. I had bought a whole ham butt end with the bone. I boned it out and put the bone in a pot of blackeyed peas. The cabbage and ham was served with a side of blackeyes for our New Years dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Having found a bag of sliced ham in the freezer I set out to find something to fix with it, with ingredients I had on hand. This recipe proved to be a winner with my DH and me. It is a no frills meal that tastes wonderful and was very filling. I didn’t change anything in the recipe, except that my ham was sliced, rather than cubed. But, next time I will add some Cajun seasoning or a little cayenne pepper to spice it up a bit. I served this with a simple salad and a loaf of crusty bread. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Good comfort food! I diced my potatoes with a splash of canola oil and spices to taste and baked them instead, just out of personal preference. I added them to the cooked cabbage mixture, which made dinner on the table in less than 25 minutes. I call that a success for a weeknight! I didn't have smoked ham this time, but would defintely use that next time to amp up the flavor a bit. I'd love to experiment with this and try bacon, smoked turkey sausage or even flavored chicken sausage. This is definitely going on the fall/winter dinner rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Loved it! I also used the chicken broth instead of H20. I sliced the potatoes as in recipe but next time may choose to dice. Flavors are amazing together and plan to incorporate this into a weekly dish thru the winter season. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debibro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States