Skillet Ham, Cabbage and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Made this tonight, it was delicious! Used some extra paprika and lawrys, and added black pepper. Also used a cup of chicken broth in place of the 1/4 cup of water. Had to simmer an extra 20 minutes to get my potatoes mushy like my fiance likes them. I usually make this in a crockpot, but this is a quicker and equally delicious alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABH83186

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookhaven, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Reminds me of a dish my house mom in Spain made us called rollo repollo. I don't use margarine so used half butter, half olive oil to sautee onions. I think half a cabbage would work better because it was falling out of the pan with a whole cabbage. Make sure you cut your potatoes small enough to cook otherwise it will take some time. I also use 1-2 tsp of paprika because I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Hardgrave

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This recipe was very good with a few tweaks because this would have been way too bland as written. I added about 8 dashes of paprika, 10 dashes of season salt, 1/2 teaspoon of salt, and Tony Cachere's seasoning to taste for some spice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Very good dish and my husband loved it! After sauteing the onion in butter, I threw in the cabbage, ham, chopped potatoes, a cup of chicken broth, and let it simmer for about 15 minutes. Once it was done simmering, I seasoned to taste with onion powder, garlic powder, seasoning salt, and pepper. We topped ours off with sharp cheddar cheese! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
No flavor and a little watery. Nobody in my family enjoyed this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Easy to make if you already have the cooked ham and a quick way to shred the cabbage. I fed it to 4 men today and they all commented about how good it was (more than once), even the one who doesn't care for cabbage liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
It was okay. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Gove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
This was a pretty tasty combination. It was a little bland so i added about a half cup of sour cream, 1/4 cup of parmesan and some dubliner. This would have been tasty with some sherry, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Very good. I added a bit more Seasoning Salt than just a pinch though -- basically just to-taste. Other than that it was a great recipe as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States