Skillet Ham, Cabbage and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This was really good. I used beef, link sausage cut up into bite size pieces. I cooked the mixture in beef stock and added about 1/4 cup red wine. Also, in the last few minutes of cooking, I added frozen, green peas. It was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
My husband and I absolutely loved this! I made two modifications! We substituted 2 large sweet potatoes for the 3 white potatoes and I added a dash of cayenne pepper along with the other spices! Other than that, I followed the recipe as written! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thedeen
Home Town: Martinsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Great recipe! I love cooked cabbage - especially fried. I fried the cabbage and potatoes, then added liquid and corned beef instead of ham (already cooked). It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newman Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Made this tonight, it was delicious! Used some extra paprika and lawrys, and added black pepper. Also used a cup of chicken broth in place of the 1/4 cup of water. Had to simmer an extra 20 minutes to get my potatoes mushy like my fiance likes them. I usually make this in a crockpot, but this is a quicker and equally delicious alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABH83186

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookhaven, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Reminds me of a dish my house mom in Spain made us called rollo repollo. I don't use margarine so used half butter, half olive oil to sautee onions. I think half a cabbage would work better because it was falling out of the pan with a whole cabbage. Make sure you cut your potatoes small enough to cook otherwise it will take some time. I also use 1-2 tsp of paprika because I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texashugs

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This recipe was very good with a few tweaks because this would have been way too bland as written. I added about 8 dashes of paprika, 10 dashes of season salt, 1/2 teaspoon of salt, and Tony Cachere's seasoning to taste for some spice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Very good dish and my husband loved it! After sauteing the onion in butter, I threw in the cabbage, ham, chopped potatoes, a cup of chicken broth, and let it simmer for about 15 minutes. Once it was done simmering, I seasoned to taste with onion powder, garlic powder, seasoning salt, and pepper. We topped ours off with sharp cheddar cheese! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
No flavor and a little watery. Nobody in my family enjoyed this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Easy to make if you already have the cooked ham and a quick way to shred the cabbage. I fed it to 4 men today and they all commented about how good it was (more than once), even the one who doesn't care for cabbage liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
It was okay. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 11-20 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States