Skillet Fried Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Well, I actually didn't get to try any of it. I made it for the family for Thanksgiving this year. I have very picky kids (refuse to even look at veggies most of the time). But...the kids like corn, and they devour bacon...so, why not? I used 1-lb smoked bacon and 1 32-oz bag of frozen corn. No other veggies added. It all cooked together very nice, but was a bit oily. Next time, I might drain off 1/4 or 1/2 of the bacon fat. When the corn had cooked, I added a little bit of salt, a sprinkle of pepper, and to the table we go. My son ate almost the entire pan himself! I guess it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I loved this corn! I was born in the south and it is a great southern recipe. My Mom always made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Not impressed. Nothing really "fried" about this. It had a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was a huge hit at the pot luck I attended at Thanksgiving. Its so rich, I wouldn't make it often, but its easy and delicious for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
We were not wowed by this recipe, but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilmasteca

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
My mom had this recipe in her files since 1950! We only make it on Halloween and Heaven forbid if I forget it! Serve it with a maple corn bread for a really filling meal, no need for more meat but a salad may be nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I do not like store bought frozen corn, but I bought some in the past because it was on sale. This recipe was DELICIOUS! My 13 year old son who does not like corn at all ate seconds!! Thank you, I will be cooking this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I've had numerous people ask for this recipe. It's unbelievably simple & so great. I used a center cut bacon to reduce the calories a bit & drained some of the fat. I have used green pepper as well as a mix of yellow/red/orange peppers, both are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Very easy recipe and it got great reviews from my guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This was a wonderful side dish to barbecued chicken. Easy to fix and very tasty too. I used precooked bacon and only 4 strips as it is all I had. I only had a quarter of a green pepper and a bit less than that of onion so that is what I used. I added a couple of tablespoons of butter to make up for the bacon I didn't have. A good pinch of kosher salt and some fresh ground black pepper and this was delicious enough to get a comment from my husband. Thanks for the wonderful recipe, I'll be using this again Michelle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States