Skillet Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
Didn't have an iron skillet so I just baked it in a glass casserole dish. Came out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
Didn't have celery when i made this the second time. So i substituted Sweet red pepper ( 1/2 c). I missed the celery and thought it needed a bit more salt. The Red gives it a nice color. I would make it again with both the celery and peper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Great recipe. I favor anything cooked in a cast iron skillet for the extra iron. I thought, after my first taste, a little salt was needed; however, that lasting impression was that this cornbread was the perfect balance of savory and sweet. This was my four year old's first taste of cornbread and, aside from picking out the "green" celery, he liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I love this recipe! Turns out great every time. I usually find I have to add at least a quarter cup more liquid, though. This is also great when made in muffin pans (12 muffins/tea biscuits per recipe), of course you'll need to reduce the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
I have made this cornbread time and again and it's always fantastic! I don't like celery much, so I always either double the onion amount (1 cup) or just leave it out. I love onions, so doubling the onion amount makes it very flavorful. On occassion I haven't had onion around the house but still wanted to make this and it still tastes great! Just be sure to add 3 tbs of melted butter to make up for it. :) I also add a bit more spice using a tsp of oregano, and some italian seasoning. The recipe is always plenty sweet for me because I use three heaping tbs of sugar. If you like sweet cornbread, heap your tbs and you'll be just fine. This recipe is fantastic, fun to play around with, keeps great, and always always tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
I used an 11 ounce can of Mexi corn. Next time I will bake in a 8 x 12 pan as it was about twice as thick as I like. This is a real keeper, easy to make and the best ever with chili beans. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
Very good recipe, cast iron pan seems to give extra flavour. Cut up onions and celery very small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flyrod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
My daughter's nutritionist and I have been looking for vegetable breads since she loves bread and skips veggies. We both loved this recipe. Great for an after school snack. Problem is - hubby ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Best homemade cornbread ever! My husband doesn't like celery so I put in onions and green onions instead. I only used 6 oz of corn. It was SO GOOD. Not too dry, not too heavy. It was perfect. I will be making this on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
This was very dry. The only changes I made were to omit celery and cook in a stone pan. The flavor was good and I loved the corn, but I would have liked a moist bread better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States