Skillet Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Great recipe. I favor anything cooked in a cast iron skillet for the extra iron. I thought, after my first taste, a little salt was needed; however, that lasting impression was that this cornbread was the perfect balance of savory and sweet. This was my four year old's first taste of cornbread and, aside from picking out the "green" celery, he liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
Didn't have an iron skillet so I just baked it in a glass casserole dish. Came out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
Didn't have celery when i made this the second time. So i substituted Sweet red pepper ( 1/2 c). I missed the celery and thought it needed a bit more salt. The Red gives it a nice color. I would make it again with both the celery and peper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
Very good recipe, cast iron pan seems to give extra flavour. Cut up onions and celery very small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flyrod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
YUM! I liked this a lot. I cut up celery onion real fine. Nice aroma, too. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMETHYSTAA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
I used an 11 ounce can of Mexi corn. Next time I will bake in a 8 x 12 pan as it was about twice as thick as I like. This is a real keeper, easy to make and the best ever with chili beans. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
I am in the Navy and on deployment I was cooking for the whole crew so I tripled he recipe and added jalaponos. Everyone said it was awsome!!! I can't wait to get home to make it for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
This was my first attempt at cornbread. I didn't have everything on hand so I didn't follow the recipe totally, but used it as a basis. I omitted celery and sage, substituted butter shortening for margarine and frozen corn for canned. I did up the salt to a full teaspoon, having read the reviews here (with the amount of sugar it makes more of a balance I think). Bread turned out moist and fluffy inside with a delicate crust. I used a 10 1/4 inch skillet without any problems (still took 25 mins). I really enjoyed it and hubby seemed to too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
This was an awesome recipe. Very easy and delicous!! I can say this was DEFINATELY not 10 servings-probably 5 in my house-lol-goes quick. Another hint, be sure to grease the pan, i didn't and part of my bread is in the pan-but it was still great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
The best corn bread I've ever made. Onion gave it a nice kick. I used light margerine and egg substitute and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States