Skillet Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
My daughter's nutritionist and I have been looking for vegetable breads since she loves bread and skips veggies. We both loved this recipe. Great for an after school snack. Problem is - hubby ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
This was not at all what I had expected & unfortunately my boyfriend would not take a second bite after the first one. I was very dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
This is fantastic! I didn't have all of the ingredients like celery and sage. I substituted roasted red peppers and cumin. Added a bit of garlic and chili flakes too. I didn't even finish making dinner, just ate the corn bread.Tried it in mini loafs and in a round pan. Both worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
I have made this cornbread time and again and it's always fantastic! I don't like celery much, so I always either double the onion amount (1 cup) or just leave it out. I love onions, so doubling the onion amount makes it very flavorful. On occassion I haven't had onion around the house but still wanted to make this and it still tastes great! Just be sure to add 3 tbs of melted butter to make up for it. :) I also add a bit more spice using a tsp of oregano, and some italian seasoning. The recipe is always plenty sweet for me because I use three heaping tbs of sugar. If you like sweet cornbread, heap your tbs and you'll be just fine. This recipe is fantastic, fun to play around with, keeps great, and always always tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Not the best. I chopped up the vegetables fine. But not sweet at all and I have had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I used this as the base to a cornbread stuffing for Thanksgiving and it worked very nicely. I'm not sure whether or not I like having whole kernals of corn in there, but it was a hit nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
My husband loved the authetic taste of this corn bread. I used frozen corn instead of canned corn because it comes closer to fresh corn. For a nice flavor kick, add 1/2 cup of cheddar cheese and 1 finely minced jalapeno. Fantastic with stew or chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I love this recipe! Turns out great every time. I usually find I have to add at least a quarter cup more liquid, though. This is also great when made in muffin pans (12 muffins/tea biscuits per recipe), of course you'll need to reduce the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Best homemade cornbread ever! My husband doesn't like celery so I put in onions and green onions instead. I only used 6 oz of corn. It was SO GOOD. Not too dry, not too heavy. It was perfect. I will be making this on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
This was very dry. The only changes I made were to omit celery and cook in a stone pan. The flavor was good and I loved the corn, but I would have liked a moist bread better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States