Skillet Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I used part pecans and part walnuts since that's what I had. They turned out very balanced in sweet and nutty flavors. Easy to make and store. Nice to pop in your mouth for a quick sweety. I made them 1" balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
My mom has been making these since I was a little girl, 25+ years ago. She always called them "Yummies". Now I make them for my kids and I call them "Snowball cookies". We have a tradition of making these on school snow days. They really are fantastic! People who don't eat dates and don't like nuts will still gobble these up and rave. The butter and sugar made a caramel sauce that binds everything else together for maximum yumminess. Try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Loved these!! So buttery rich and sweet. I used less sugar than called for based on other reviews. Second time I made them I used 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup Splenda and they were plenty sweet and just as yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Yum! So good! I even made them vegan (dairy and egg allergies over here!) by subbing the butter for 1/4 cup non-hydrogenated margarine and 1/4 cup coconut oil and omitted the egg yolks completely. I also added about 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of the white sugar. So, so good! Next time I'm going to try using only coconut oil...I think it would give great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
My Mom made these when we were kids she rolled them in nuts or coconut after forming into balls. She had to put them in the freezer to keep them away from us kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I made a very large batch of these at work. This recipe x 16. The head chef hates dates. Won't touch them. He ended trying one and every time he walked by my work station he would take another one. Wasn't sure how they would go over with the clients but they were snapped up quick and asked for again. Easy to make and tastes good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I love dates but for some reason I think these are just OK. Rated 5 stars because the recipe is perfect. Don't expect it to come to a full rolling boil. Start timing when it appears as if it's starting to boil. Don't burn your hands trying to roll. They roll nicely while the dough is still warm. The icing sugar stuck beautifully to the dough balls. I wonder if the person who had problems with the sugar not sticking was because the dough was still hot? The coconut didn't want to stick as well and I rolled those first. You can see a LOT of brown candy through the coconut but the icing sugar ones looks like a plate of snowballs. 1 Tablespoon of dough for each ball made 37 balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Very good and easy to make. I have never had a date in my life but I figured, "Why not." I will definitely make these again. Oh yeah, I used coconut instead of powered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Wasn't sure I'd like these, but they were DELICIOUS and a hit at work! Easy to make too! I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenR1962

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Placerville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Very good cookie and so simple to make. This is a great recipe to fix with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msjennymac

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States