Skillet Chops with Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Just okay...nothing special. I was looking for a stove top pork chop recipe and I had everything for this handy. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and used about 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese. I won't be making this again...it lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin 'Bower' Zimmerman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was delicious! I added onion powder and pepper just to give it a little more flavor. I had no milk, so I just used sour cream in its place. Definitely will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This was really good - I messed up and didn't bread the meat first so I mixed the bread crumbs and parmesan cheese together into the mushroom sauce - very yummy though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I loved this recipe - I usually feel like my pork chops are dry and tough but the gravy make these really flavorful and moist. I used thinner, tenderized pork chops which were great with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Engel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenview, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I added a little salt, pepper and onion powder to the breadcrumbs and grated cheese. And I dipped the chops in egg before breading since it created more 'bits' for the gravy. I used leftover white country gravy rather than cream of mushroom too. They were GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This recipe was a good start but I only rated four because it was missing sliced mushrooms, onions (although I think every recipe needs those) and spices.. I used lots of garlic and onion powders. But I did like now the soup made it's own gravy without being too filling. The hubby ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzysMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Debary, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
WOW! Great tasting recipe! We'll do this again ... and again! I tweaked it a little, though! Threw a hand full or so of almonds into the Cuisinart and ground them well. Added these to Italian bread crumbs (about 50/50 with almonds) and 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese. Dipped boneless butterfly chops in egg and then into the crust mixture. Saved the leftover mixture for the gravy as someone suggested. Added sliced mushrooms to low sodium cream of mushroom soup, 1 cup of milk and the leftover crust mixture to make the gravy. The only change I'll make next time is add ground pepper and cook the chops separately as the gravy made these wonderfully crusted chops a bit soggy. No worries ... my wife & I cleaned our plates! Served with mashed potatoes & corn. Had some leftover gravy & potatoes which I combined and re-heated for lunch! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Play Music

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I followed the recipe as stated but also took the following suggesting from other reviews: I added ground pepper and parmesan cheese to the breadcrumbs, i added 1/4 cup of red wine to the cream of mushroom/ milk sauce in addtion to some ground pepper. After tasting the sauce I added a little bit of salt and parmesan cheese to the sauce. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was just a bit bland as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This was awesome! I followed some of the other reviews and did equal parts bread crumbs to parmesan cheese and added onion and garlic powders and salt and pepper. Then I stirred in the remaining bread crumb mixture, added extra milk, onion powder, garlic powder and a little worcestershire sauce into the gravy and it was delicious. I cooked this for a birthday dinner and everyone, including my 18 month old son, cleaned their plates. I served it with rice and broccoli. Yummy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States