Skillet Chops with Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Oh wow! We just had it for dinner wish biscuits and mashed potatos. I sauted an onion and garlic before browning the porkchops. I used a cup of milk for extra gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
I found this recipe very boring and kind of bland. It definitely needs some tweaks to add more flavor. Maybe add some garlic? I made no changes from the original recipe when preparing this dish. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
This was very tasty. I ended up adding a little bit to the sauce though. I added approximately 1-2 teaspoons of onion soup mix and about that much worchestershire sauce. This was wonderful with mashed potatoes. Thanks for sharing with us:)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
a very quick dinner to pull together! i increased the grated parm to equal my bread crumbs (1/2 cup each) and added a dash of salt, pepper and garlic powder. after breading, i saved the leftover bread crumb mixture to add in with the soup & milk, as another reviewer suggested -- definitely thickened up the gravy to a rich and delicious sauce! and, because i added in the extra dry crumbs i had to increase the milk to 1-1/2 cups. i also added fresh sliced white mushrooms which added a nice surprise to the gravy. the gravy is what makes this dish! i only had two large-ish porkchops to cook and there was very little gravy left after we finished dinner! served with mashed potatoes and rolls, this made a great dinner. next time, i'll cook the pork chops a little longer in the first step to achieve a crispier coating on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
This was absolutely wonderful. The only thing I wish was that the meat was just a little bit more tender. The gravy was awesome over roasted garlic mashed potatoes...this will definately go in our recipe book. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
These pork chops came out really good. I followed someone else's suggestion and used almost a 1:1 ratio of bread crumbs to parmesan, which worked out nicely. I dont really like soaking things that are battered and fried, however, and may try soaking the porkchops in buttermilk to tenderize them, then frying them up after breading them (and serving the gravy on the side)- they were so beautiful before I put them in the sauce! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
This is a stupendous recipe. I used 3 large, thick boneless pork chops and I had just enough gravy for them. I increased the milk to 1 cup and it was definitely not too much. I also used Italian style bread crumbs and added the leftover bread crumb/cheese mixture to the gravy to make a wonderful, savory sauce that thickened nicely and just turned out fabulous. I used fresh portabello mushrooms as well. Do NOT hesitate to make this recipe but do add the extra milk or you will be sad that you do not have enough gravy! Oh, I forgot to mention that I added about 1/4 cup of red wine to the sauce for another dimension of flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
Very easy to make and very tasty. My chops came out tender and moist. I did add some garlic powder and pepper to the bread crumbs. I recommend this one highly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
This recipe was really very average. Nothing bad about it, but nothing exciting either. When you add this to the fact that my breading got soggy I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
This was so easy and quick. My husband loved it too. I even used Campbells Healthy Request Cream of Mushroom soup to lighten it up a bit and it still was great. I also substitute 1/2 cup of dry white wine (like chardonnay) instead of the milk and it gives it a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States