Skillet Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
This chili was extremely good. I eat a high protein/low carbohydrate diet and simply cut the beans in half and also the tomato paste. This is going in my permanent file since we eat chili every New Years Day and up to now, haven't found one that I felt fit the bill. Thank you Mr Chinn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKS84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
I made this chili over the weekend while camping, and let me tell you, it was wonderful!!! We were originally going to modify the ingredients, but then decided to follow it exactly, and were glad we did. We love thick chili, and it came out nice and thick and tasted great! And even better the next day! Thanks for a great recipe! We will definately make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imaflipn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
I made it with the canned chopped tomato and tomato sauce instead of paste. VERY GOOD, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisascooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baaaates
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I'm a 25 year old living by myself and I don't really cook very often but I was craving some homemade chili and didn't have my mom's recipe (not to mention I've never made chili in my life), so I tried this and it was PERFECT. The perfect amount of spicyness, the right thickness, EVERYTHING. Delicious. And easy, too! Great with some sour cream and cheddar cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I made chili tacos last night, as requested by my oldest son. I made this whole recipe in my cast iron skillet. I used red pepper in place of the green bell pepper and I added a mess of fresh minced garlic. After tasting it, I did add a few more spices which goosed it up a bit. I ate this as is with a dollop of reduced fat sour cream but the boys ate this like tacos in either hard taco shells or flour tortillas. Out of this whole skillet, there's only enough for lunch for one person today. The boys all told me that I'm to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
really good and easy to make chili! the only thing I would add would be some corn cause the chili is pretty spicy and I think the corn would be a good counter to the spicy. But otherwise it is really good and I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I like it thinner, so I do the recommendations for that and then add 1 teas cumin. Adds a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I wasn't a huge fan of this. Missing something. I've never used tomato paste in chili before, usually petite diced tomatoes. Maybe I should've stuck with that. Also, I did use the garlic powder, per the recipe, and I normally use actual garilic. I probably would have given it a 3, but speed and ease of preparation made it worth 4. Also the fact that it didn't have any "unusual" ingredients, just items I already had on hand. Makes this a weeknight chili rather than a weekend chili and that's just what you need sometimes. Having said all this, I would try it again with a few changes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Great! I used black beans as that was all i had on hand and i added a can of diced tomatoes. this was really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vinings, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Very tasty. It is best to follow recipe as outlined and then tweka it later to make it as spicy as you like. I had to add more chili powder and cayanne pepper for my tastes. I used dry beans and did not soak them enough beforehand. Please do not make this mistake. If you use dry beans they will need to soak 18-24 hours before you start the recipe. The beans should be able to easily squish in your fingers, otherwise let them soak longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States