Skillet Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I made chili tacos last night, as requested by my oldest son. I made this whole recipe in my cast iron skillet. I used red pepper in place of the green bell pepper and I added a mess of fresh minced garlic. After tasting it, I did add a few more spices which goosed it up a bit. I ate this as is with a dollop of reduced fat sour cream but the boys ate this like tacos in either hard taco shells or flour tortillas. Out of this whole skillet, there's only enough for lunch for one person today. The boys all told me that I'm to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I make chili very similar to this. I add a lot more beans (kidney, black, great northern, baked and pinto). My kids like sweet chili so I also add some brown sugar. I don't use the chili beans but add chili powder. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This is similar to the recipe I've used for about 30 years now. The one thing I do is to at least double the spices and add more green pepper. It's great if you use both red and green peppers. Never added the tomato paste though, I always use a large can of diced tomatoes. Great with cornbread or even over pasta --
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Sokolinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
We really liked the chili. Before letting it simmer for an hr, I tasted the tomato sauce, but after simmering it was excellent. We did add an additional can of chili beans. Was so easy that my husband made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Made this last night. It was good!! I thought it was hearty and thick, as I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janee'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
For a quick and easy chili, this recipe is perfect! I will definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This was really good chili. I sauteed the onion and green pepper in a little oil and added the seasoned salt and browned the meat at that point too. I used 1 lb. of meat, 1/2 a Texas sweet onion, 1/2 tsp of minced garlic, a roasted garlic tomato paste, chili beans sauce and all, mild jalapeno hot pepper sauce, and half the cayenne powder called for. I added in 1/2 c chicken broth and a can of beef consomme as it was was too thick otherwise. Because I know our tastes I added in a couple of tsp's of sugar to cut the acid from the tomato. I let this simmer for two hours before eating. My husband made a comment it was a little spicy but it was good and he topped his with some sour cream and enjoyed this meal. Thank you, this was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
My family absolutely loved it. I omitted the hot pepper sauce. We poured it over hot dogs to make chili dogs. This will be a favorite here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hargill, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This was so quick and easy to make. We really enjoyed this chili. I definitely will make this again. The only difference was I added a fresh minced garlic clove with the onion and green pepper.It came out a little thick, but it was still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
My man wanted chili for supper...I was out of my usual fixings...tried this...De-Licious!! He loved it ( and he IS picky...). Followed all but the hot pepper sauce/cayenne as he is not into spicy. definitely a keeper...thanks Andrew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States