Skillet Chicken Picante Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
I used Penzey Chicken Taco spice in place of the seasonings. I added tomatoes with green chilis to the pan with chicken, then rolled chicken mixture in flour tortillas, then poured picante swauce over and baked at 400 for 30 minutes...YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delmar, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fruitland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
My husband loves mexican, so i surprised him with this! I cooked the chicken in the slow cooker and put garlic on both sides. The last two hours, I put the picante sauce (specially made by my uncle!!!) in. I omitted the tomatoes, but added refried beans for the tortillas. I also served with black beans. Topped all with sour cream. YUM-BO!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
Prepared this recipe on the spur of the moment on 12/24/00 (always a busy time of year). Had chicken breasts that I needed to do something with, so I looked up allrecipe.com and found this recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
Didn't appeal to me or my wife. Somehow, it is rather spicy but bland at the same time. Only thing you taste is tomato. Certainly easy to prepare, though, and probably a good recipe for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Great recipe, but it needs a little something green and fresh to brighten it up, so I added half a bell pepper sauted with the onion and to take this over the top, garnished with fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
This was pretty good. I'm giving it 3 stars because the hubby said it was "too tomato-y" and I partially agree...it could use a little bit more substance. At first I was worried that the sauce wouldn't thicken because 20 minutes had passed and it was still fairly liquidy, but I just kept it on the stove a bit longer, which worked out with the timing of my side dish. But we added cheese *and* sour cream to the burritos which gave it a bit more "oomph".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
easy to make and easy to modify! I added extra spices and only half as many crushed tomatoes. Quick and tasty over rice with cheese and tortillas to serve along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BobK
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Rather than use the tortillas, I served it over basmati rice, with peas. I kicked up the zest factor by using 16 oz. of medium picante sauce and 8 oz. of chipotle salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BobK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
A perfect quick lunch! Turned out MUCH more flavorful than I thought it would. I used my Pampered Chef Food Chopper to chop up the chicken (I cooked it beforehand) and onions and sauteed them together with the garlic powder and olive oil and then followed recipe to taste. We also used Monterey Jack instead of Cheddar as that was all I had. A delicious quick lunch, both my husband and I and our kids, 5 and 2, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was SO easy and pretty darn good for a quick meal. I subbed items for what I had and thought it was great. Sauteed 1/2 cup green pepper and a 1/2 cup fresh tomato for the canned. Used onion powder for the onion (plus the picante had onion in it anyway). 1 Cup picante and a a bag of ready cooked sliced chicken. Made enough for 5 servings. Served with the cheese and sour cream in the torillas. FAST, SIMPLE AND GOOD. You really can't ask for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Salsa Chicken

Simple, savory baked chicken flavored with taco seasoning and salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States