Skillet Chicken Picante Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
A pretty good recipe. Quick to make and comes up tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Great recipe, but it needs a little something green and fresh to brighten it up, so I added half a bell pepper sauted with the onion and to take this over the top, garnished with fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
easy to make and easy to modify! I added extra spices and only half as many crushed tomatoes. Quick and tasty over rice with cheese and tortillas to serve along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BobK
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Rather than use the tortillas, I served it over basmati rice, with peas. I kicked up the zest factor by using 16 oz. of medium picante sauce and 8 oz. of chipotle salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BobK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was SO easy and pretty darn good for a quick meal. I subbed items for what I had and thought it was great. Sauteed 1/2 cup green pepper and a 1/2 cup fresh tomato for the canned. Used onion powder for the onion (plus the picante had onion in it anyway). 1 Cup picante and a a bag of ready cooked sliced chicken. Made enough for 5 servings. Served with the cheese and sour cream in the torillas. FAST, SIMPLE AND GOOD. You really can't ask for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
this recipe was amazing :) at first taste the sauce seemed a bit too tomato-ey, yes, but adding about a teaspoon of cayenne and the same in creole seasoning turned it from ok to AWESOME. will definitely be making it again sometime. sour cream is an awesome addition as well on the tortillas, but not necessary, it's good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was an easy recipe to prepare. My wife and I found it to good, but like others it was a strong tomato taste and it needed more bulk. It will do in a pinch, but not a regular. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
I used Penzey Chicken Taco spice in place of the seasonings. I added tomatoes with green chilis to the pan with chicken, then rolled chicken mixture in flour tortillas, then poured picante swauce over and baked at 400 for 30 minutes...YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delmar, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fruitland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
Didn't appeal to me or my wife. Somehow, it is rather spicy but bland at the same time. Only thing you taste is tomato. Certainly easy to prepare, though, and probably a good recipe for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
This was pretty good. I'm giving it 3 stars because the hubby said it was "too tomato-y" and I partially agree...it could use a little bit more substance. At first I was worried that the sauce wouldn't thicken because 20 minutes had passed and it was still fairly liquidy, but I just kept it on the stove a bit longer, which worked out with the timing of my side dish. But we added cheese *and* sour cream to the burritos which gave it a bit more "oomph".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Salsa Chicken

Simple, savory baked chicken flavored with taco seasoning and salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States