Skillet Apple Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I don't know what I did wrong, but this came out really bad. My chicken was slimy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeLee222

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I wasn't really sure what to expect, but it was a good experiment. I thought it tasted like applesauce flavored chicken. I like those items separately but mixed was 'meh'. Made it as listed except for cutting back on the salt some. Probably won't try this again unless someone that's a better cook than me does it. Maybe it was my lack of skills that wrecked it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
We loved this recipe as is. Will be getting a covered skillet or wok and add garlic with chicken broth, love chicken cooked well, needing to cut the salt for health reasons as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalate

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I tried this today. I made some modifications and added garlic salt to taste (as per others advice/comments). I also substituted parsley for the tarragon. I may have added the spices too early because I was concerned about the chicken's flavor. I think that adding the spices before the apples was a mistake. I may try again to see if there is a difference. I really liked the pumpkin pie spice in the flavor. Gave the chicken a little something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
My husband and I LOVED this recipe, and my 5-year-old couldn't get enough. I did use only 2 tsp garlic salt and 1/2 Tbsp pepper, but other that, I followed the directions completely. My husband even asked me to make this chicken for dinner again tomorrow night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I used two cloves of garlic instead of the garlic salt, and used three chicken breasts and two apples, because that's what I needed to feed the family. We all thought it was delicious. I served it with baked sweet potatoes, and kept thinking that I could probably have done everything together in the oven. It's a really nice blend of flavors. Next time I might try caramelizing the apples in butter instead of using the olive oil, but this was really very, very good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This was an excellent combination of ingredients, however a few adjustments are necessary! add another apple, cut the garlic salt to 1 t, cut black pepper to 1/4 t. Follow the recipe as is and then add about 1/4-1/3 cup of apple juice, cover and simmer for about 15-20 minutes. Serve over whole grain jasmine rice. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefs Kitchen

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Interesting blend of spices but entirely too much garlic salt. I added water - didn't have apple juice - or it would have been very dry also. Might try minced garlic cloves while browning the chicken and a teaspoon of salt with apple juice. Spicy good - salty bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This was pretty easy to make! It gave me a reason to use my vegeable-slicer attachment on my kitchen aid - so easy!. I didn't have pumpkin pie spice so I substituted cinnamon. I also added some curry powder. Served with extra wide egg noodles. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I didn't like this at all! The chick was very dry and I even added some broth to it. It didn't have a very good flavor either. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States