Skillet Apple Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I don't know what I did wrong, but this came out really bad. My chicken was slimy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Pera Reznik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I wasn't really sure what to expect, but it was a good experiment. I thought it tasted like applesauce flavored chicken. I like those items separately but mixed was 'meh'. Made it as listed except for cutting back on the salt some. Probably won't try this again unless someone that's a better cook than me does it. Maybe it was my lack of skills that wrecked it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
We loved this recipe as is. Will be getting a covered skillet or wok and add garlic with chicken broth, love chicken cooked well, needing to cut the salt for health reasons as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalate

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I tried this today. I made some modifications and added garlic salt to taste (as per others advice/comments). I also substituted parsley for the tarragon. I may have added the spices too early because I was concerned about the chicken's flavor. I think that adding the spices before the apples was a mistake. I may try again to see if there is a difference. I really liked the pumpkin pie spice in the flavor. Gave the chicken a little something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Lane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
My husband and I LOVED this recipe, and my 5-year-old couldn't get enough. I did use only 2 tsp garlic salt and 1/2 Tbsp pepper, but other that, I followed the directions completely. My husband even asked me to make this chicken for dinner again tomorrow night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Haag

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I used two cloves of garlic instead of the garlic salt, and used three chicken breasts and two apples, because that's what I needed to feed the family. We all thought it was delicious. I served it with baked sweet potatoes, and kept thinking that I could probably have done everything together in the oven. It's a really nice blend of flavors. Next time I might try caramelizing the apples in butter instead of using the olive oil, but this was really very, very good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This was an excellent combination of ingredients, however a few adjustments are necessary! add another apple, cut the garlic salt to 1 t, cut black pepper to 1/4 t. Follow the recipe as is and then add about 1/4-1/3 cup of apple juice, cover and simmer for about 15-20 minutes. Serve over whole grain jasmine rice. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefs Kitchen

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Interesting blend of spices but entirely too much garlic salt. I added water - didn't have apple juice - or it would have been very dry also. Might try minced garlic cloves while browning the chicken and a teaspoon of salt with apple juice. Spicy good - salty bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn Souders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This was pretty easy to make! It gave me a reason to use my vegeable-slicer attachment on my kitchen aid - so easy!. I didn't have pumpkin pie spice so I substituted cinnamon. I also added some curry powder. Served with extra wide egg noodles. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I didn't like this at all! The chick was very dry and I even added some broth to it. It didn't have a very good flavor either. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States