Skillet Apple Brownie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
HUGE THANK YOU EVIN for satisfying my sweet tooth. This was a perfect recipe and the ease was almost scary. So simple that I could probably make it every night. When I asked you for a description you said..."Imagine a blond brownie and an apple pie... they meet on a moonlit night in paris... they share a bottle of wine...They're chewy bar... like a butterscotch brownie kinda..." no truer words were ever written. The one addition I made was adding a 1/2 bag of Heath toffee chips to the batter. Just outstanding and rest assured, I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Made this soon as it posted! Couldn't wait to try my new skillet! Very easy recipe and super tasty. Omitted the clove as family is not much for gingerbread flavor. Recipe has plenty of spice without. Used walnuts as had on hand. Served with homemade vanilla ice cream. Will use often. Great way to use up 3-4 apples that need eating up! ( EDIT: I have made this several times now and cut the spices in half. Much better and not so overpowering. I also have added dried cranberries on occasion - delicious!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I enjoyed this - unfortunately I was using fresh-grated nutmeg for the first time and totally underestimated how strong it would be. I did not add cloves and used wheat flour instead of white. I loved the texture and the apples in this. Next time I will cut the sugar back to 3/4 c and maybe use 1/2 tsp nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Not bad, but not the best. There was just something missing, but can't put my finger on it. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I made this as is, but I agree that something was missing. I loved the taste with icecream, but I think that there was too much of the spices. Each one needed to be cut down a bit so the apple flavour could show through better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This was delicious!! The only change I made was to leave out the cloves, NOT a fan. I never would have thought of making something like this, and especially not in my cast iron skillet! I love how the outside cooks from the butter / hot skillet. The only thing I might change next time would be to add a touch more salt. I used unsalted butter (I do in all my baking) and I think 1/4 tsp wasn't quite enough salt. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This was so easy to make and it has that old fashioned down home comfort food feeling. My husband said this was one of the best deserts he has had. I did add a bit of allspice to the recipe but not enough to detract from the original. Yummy! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jetchef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
We thought this was great. I reduced the cloves because I knew it was too much for us! My batter was pretty dry, quite hard to scoop, so I think in the future I'd add a bit of milk to thin it out somewhat. The finished product tastes great! Thanks for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This is fabulous!! Everyone loved it and we will make this again and again and again! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Loved it!!!! Very Tasty! Made in a glass 9x9 and worked just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States