Skewered Cantaloupe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
It's hard to beat the naturally sweet flavor of cantaloupe! I played with this recipe a bit...reduced mint to 1 tsp, marinated the fruit in ingredients listed in recipe for 2 hours, fruit came out a bit mushy afterwards. You could reduce marinating time, or as I did with a new batch: -Marinate in the freezer, just until the mix started to freeze. Let this batch warm enough to drain, let come to room temp & grilled per the recipe. Just a hint of mint and very good taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mngardener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baxter, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
Love, love, love the texture of BBQ cantaloupe! Great also seasoned with salt & pepper on baby spinach salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
My wife loathes cantaloupe, so I tried this with mango as well as cantaloupe. Turned out Fantastic! I think next time I might use a cheese cloth and strain out the mint however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
Wow. Grilled deserts just don't get any better than this. Simple, quick, and unbelievably delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Really good. When I told my husband he would be grilling cantaloupe he gave me a funny look and said EWW. But I like grilled fruit and I figured it was worth a shot. The glaze was very nice. And my doubting husband ended up loving this :) Served with vanilla ice cream. Yummy. Give this recipe a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2000
Mmmm... a nice change!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
We loved it, may try to add brown sugar also next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowersnmore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2000
Grilled Cataloupe? You bet, this recipe was awesome. I would have never suspected grilled fruit could taste so good until I tasted this recipe at a friends house. I suspect it's got something to do with the ice cream and sauce on the side . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Delicious recipe and concept! Make sure your pieces are pretty big chunks. My husband loved the texture. Ca't wait to make this for friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This was an interesting way to serve cantaloupe. My girls were the 1st to hit this and were the last ones to walk away from it...must eat them warm to enjoy the full affect. The honey butter sauce was really great, I used things from local...local blackberry honey from a farm in town and apple mint I am growing in my garden. It was lip smacking delish! I could totally use the sauce on other fruit whether they are grill, fried or fresh. It really is something that makes things shine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Fruit Skewers

Skewered strawberries, mangoes, papayas, and pineapples all excel on the grill.

How to Make Bacon-Wrapped Scallops

Grilled bacon and scallops make a smoky, savory treat.

Bison and Veggie Kabobs

Learn how to make lean bison and vegetable kabobs with couscous salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States