Sizzling Chicken Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
These were great! Make sure you let them marinate a few hours, 1 day is best. The chicken will pick up the wonderful flavors. Also, I skipped the skewers and bell peppers and served the grilled chicken over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
These were ok. Definitely cut the marinade ingredients in half if you're only using 3 chicken breasts. It makes enough for at least 6 breasts. Also, these stuck to the grill, so we rolled up some tin foil into logs and put each end of the skewers on them so they didn't touch the grill. They were pretty salty too, so I recommend using low sodium soy sauce and not using any additional salt at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This is so good! I served it to about 55 guests over the weekend, and everyone raved about it and asked for the recipe. I let it marinade for about 24 hours. The only modifications I made were cutting the Cayenne in half and substituting the other half with Paprika (I was nervous that it might be too spicy), cut back on the salt a little – it just seemed like too much and used the lower sodium soy sauce. This recipe is defiantly a keeper - don’t let the diverse list of ingredients keep you from trying it. It is so tender and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
SOOO GOOD!! My guests couldn't stop commenting how good this was. Who would of thought with all the crazy ingredients. I made the marinade the night before and marinated my chicken in it all night(really makes for moist chicken). The only subs were vidalia onion for the green onion, and I had no cayenne pepper so I used paprika with a few red pep flakes. I also used lite soy sauce..The regular soy would make it way too salty. I strung chicken on the skewers with the pepper, pineapple chunks, and vidalia onion and my oh my..they were soo good. Don't pass this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
WOW! I have never grilled anything on a skewer before until today. I marinated the meat overnight and it gave it great flavor. At first I was a little frightened by the ingredients but trust me..it's awesome. My picky husband loves these and has asked me to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulliver, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I was nervous about this, since the ingredients seem *so* odd, but made it based on the other reviews. I'm so glad I did!!! I made them for Memorial Day, and everyone LOVED them. I followed the directions exactly, but I pureed the ingredients in the blender - turned out great. I cut up about 9 chicken breasts to marinate, so I doubled the marinade. This made a TON, so next time I wouldn't double it, even when using that much chicken. Excellent, excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I made this recipe last night for a couple of friends and we couldn't get enough of it! I love everything about it and will definitely be putting this on the 'repeat' list!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Amazing! These were worth all of the effort to make the marinade. I can't say enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjawshewa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
When my husband and I were first mixing the ingredients for this recipe, we debated whether or not to continue as it seemed like an odd combination of ingredients. I'm incredibly glad we decided to continue as the chicken skewers turned out to be delicious! I left out the cilantro as I did not have any on hand and used a white onion instead of green onion. The result was an incredibly wonderful marinade! One last note, I only used half of the mixture for a marinade and used the other half for a sauce which I poured over white rice and also used for dipping the skewers in. Thank you for the terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
The combination of ingredients struck me as odd, and the finished product tasted odd to me. Did like the peppers and pineapple. Would have been better with a dipping sauce. Won't make it again. I prefer the chicken satay recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Chorizo and Chicken Skewers

Spicy chorizo sausage adds big flavor to lean chicken and veggie skewers.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States