Sizzling Chicken Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
We loved this, and it got 2 thumbs up from my kids! I varied it a little because I made it last minute, so I used what I had. I left out the cayenne, but used hot salsa, and the kids didn't complain. I didn't have cilantro, but had parsley and mint in my garden and it made a nice variant. I broiled the skewers and left off the bell peppers and served over rice. Thanks for the recipe, we will use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Loved it! I made the marinade without the salt and when I tasted it, it didnt seem to need the salt so I left it out. I marinated chicken breasts and grilled them. I added 1/2 cup of pineapple juice and 1 1/2 cups of water to the marinade after removing the chicken and I boiled it down to the original consistency and I served this as a dipping sauce. The chicken was wonderful with and without the sauce. I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This reminded me of Kona's chicken satays - which I love. I think next time we might use a tad less peanut butter, as that was a bit overpowering. Otherwise, great recipe and we'll make it again. I think this would make a great appetizer for parties. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
At first bite I thought this wasn't really any big deal. I have a chicken satay recipe I love to use from here, but the more we ate it, the more we loved it. You don't need a peanut dipping sauce since it's already on the chicken. The only change I made was creamy instead of chunky PB because thats what we use, and I added only a touch of cayenne because I didn't want it too spicy for the kids (probably could have added a bit more). Thanks so much for this yummy recipe, its a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thrasher'swife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
These are just so good. Don't be put off by the strange ingredients, try these, they come out moist and delishes!! This is my new chicken kabob recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Great recipe but also try it with chicken thighs which are finer grained and stay moister than breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
These are SOOOO good! Made them for the first night of a vacation getaway for 3 families--everyone from age 6 to 60 loved them! I would have had seconds but they disappeared too quickly! I let marinate as long as possible--at least overnight. Make sure your bamboo skewers soak at least a couple of hours in cold water so they won't burn on the grill. This recipe is so good--quite an unusual bunch of ingredients, but somehow it all comes together to produce an awesomely unique flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Beth Newman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I have made this many times and it's always a hit. I bake mine in the oven at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes (and therefore omit the green peppers). I also reserve some of the peanut sauce prior to adding the chicken so that, after it's cooked, people can use it as a side dipping sauce if they'd like to. Also, the most crucial step is letting the chicken marinade in the sauce overnight. Otherwise the flavor doesn't turn out nearly as nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alice Kim
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
these are soo good! i followed the recipe to the T and they came out PERFECT! Perfect for storing and freezing for future dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Kim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Very mixed reviews in our house. I did not like at all as the taste was not to my liking but my eldest son and husband enjoyed. Youngest said it was just ok. Not sure if I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Chorizo and Chicken Skewers

Spicy chorizo sausage adds big flavor to lean chicken and veggie skewers.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States