Sizzling Chicken Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I am rating this from the dish I made with changes below. I read and followed the suggestion of another reviewer (re: Thai Chicken Linguini), because it is way less labor-intensive than the skewers. I chose this recipe to use up a jar of chunky coconut peanut butter that was nearing expiration. I had to microwave the PB for 40 seconds to soften it and make it easier to mix with the rest of the ingredients. Used what I had in the pantry and substituted 1 can diced tomatoes with green chile instead of salsa(did not have any). Omitted salt (used lite soy sauce) and green bell pepper (didn't have any). Followed the rest of the ingredients to make the sauce. I sauteed the thinly sliced chicken breast, julienned carrots and broccoli in a wok before adding the sauce. We love spicy hot, so I added some cayenne powder, chili powder, red pepper flakes, hot sauce, more black pepper... I found that it took a lot more than the usual amount of spices to get the heat level up. My husband came to the rescue by adding some habanero sauce that finally took the heat level to (only) 4/10. Served over jasmine rice. We would make this again, but I might use French cut (fresh) green beans next time instead of broccoli. I think the broccoli's texture does not go with the rest of the dish. And if I was using creamy peanut butter, I would sprinkle crushed roasted peanuts on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabyChops

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
The sauce is so tasty, I thought it was going to be spicy but it was just right. I served it with black beans and rice. The chicken was so delicious. I cant wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I made this a long time ago and remember everyone loving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I swear I have made this before! There must be a similar recipe lurking on this website. I definitely liked it before. Still like it! I don't like cilantro though so I left that bit out and only had smooth peanut butter. Baked in the oven. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Do delicious! I was skeptical on making this since the ingredient combination was different than I'm used to. But since I had most of it on had I gave it a shot! I had no green onion so I used a white onion and no salsa so I used a can of Rotel. Marinated for 24 hours and grilled. My family devoured every piece and asked to make it again. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Not a fan of this combination of ingredients. The peanut butter gave it an odd flavor that I didn't really care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
OMG!!!!!!! This is one of the BEST chicken recipes I have ever made! So easy and a crowd favorite... Don't be scared of the wide mix of ingredients... Turned out fantastic!!! I did put the skewers on the grill... So good makin them again this weekend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
These chicken skewers are SO delicious - they have become one of our favorite things to BBQ in the summer time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
OMG good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
"It's different..." is all my fiance could say. Not great. I followed the recipe exactly as written, so it wasn't any substitutions or changes I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Chorizo and Chicken Skewers

Spicy chorizo sausage adds big flavor to lean chicken and veggie skewers.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States