Sixteenth Century Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2000
I found the ingredients interesting.... I couldn't find currents so I used raisins...I didn't have any wine opened so I used apple juice... My son couldn't stand the smell of the fruit cooking but did like the results...I served it over rice and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2001
I stumpled on to this and decided to give in a try, I am glad I did it is now in my line up of my basic meals my 6year old loved it!!!! Rearlly he askes for seconds but when I cook "sweet Chicken" as he calles it I can count on him having a third healping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
This recipe isn't about fast and easy, it is about making a good chicken dish. This is an excellent dish for when you have some time in the kitchen. I didn't read the recipe really well the first time I made it, so I kept the chicken on the bone. I've done it the other way, but my husband and I prefer it with my mistake. On the bone keeps the chicken moist and while messy makes a good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
Absolutely superb!! I was unable to find currents and instead substituted blueberries. It turned out very nice and was a definite crowd pleaser!! Just wouldn't recommend eating the fruit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
All I can say is...WOW! I didn't have currants on hand, so I subst. raisins and subst. orange blossom water (available at most Arabic grocery stores) for rose water. My husband couldn't stop raving about this! A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
This turned out great! I made rice to go with it and added some of the currants and cloves while it steamed in chicken broth. With some toasted almonds on top it made a wonderful accompaniment to the chicken. Next time I want to try this in the slow cooker and really let the flavors soak in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEPPER11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This was not to our taste. We ended up having to eat a ham sandwich for dinner instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
this is a really interesting tasting recipe. Tastes slightly like Indian, slightly Chinese chicken. The addition of the rosewater added a high note. Subbed nutmeg for mace, and also added a piece of the orange rind for a more intense orange flavor. It seemed a shame to let the fruit go to waste so I processed the entire thing in my foodprocessor (only tossed out the rind)to get more intensity from the clove and peppercorn. On its own, the sauce does not have a great flavor but somehow when added to the chicken, it was a really great taste so don't give up until you've tried the final product. I rarely make a dish without onion or garlic so I did saute 2 cloves of garlic and 1 med. onion halved and sliced along with the chicken and am glad I did; it added to the overall flavor of the dish. Served this over rice for a really nice different way to make chicken in a snap! This makes a quick weeknight meal with a different way to jazz up chicken breasts. Don't forget to add some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
It was decent, but not really enticing enough to make again. Suggest adding veggies with chicken. Changes: substituted nutmeg for mace, substituted vinegar for wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
The chicken turned out very good! Tasty and sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States