Sixteenth Century Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
I was a little scared when I smelled the fruit cooking that I wasn't going to like this but it actualy turned out quite good! I replaced the mace with nutmeg and also used raisins and apple juice that where recommended replacements in other reviews. It's sweet but not overwhelmingly so, I'd definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Followed the sauce recipe exactly. Edible and tastes okay, but nothing special. I was sad about the food that was removed from the sauce. It could have been really interesting. Only used half the amount of chicken and was glad about that; it was the perfect amount of sauce for the chicken. If I'd added veggies, there might not have been enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This is a absolutely wonderful recipe!! I made it with out the rose water. Every one loved this! It is not a hard recipe at all!! A must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
The chicken turned out very good! Tasty and sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
It was decent, but not really enticing enough to make again. Suggest adding veggies with chicken. Changes: substituted nutmeg for mace, substituted vinegar for wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
this is a really interesting tasting recipe. Tastes slightly like Indian, slightly Chinese chicken. The addition of the rosewater added a high note. Subbed nutmeg for mace, and also added a piece of the orange rind for a more intense orange flavor. It seemed a shame to let the fruit go to waste so I processed the entire thing in my foodprocessor (only tossed out the rind)to get more intensity from the clove and peppercorn. On its own, the sauce does not have a great flavor but somehow when added to the chicken, it was a really great taste so don't give up until you've tried the final product. I rarely make a dish without onion or garlic so I did saute 2 cloves of garlic and 1 med. onion halved and sliced along with the chicken and am glad I did; it added to the overall flavor of the dish. Served this over rice for a really nice different way to make chicken in a snap! This makes a quick weeknight meal with a different way to jazz up chicken breasts. Don't forget to add some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This was not to our taste. We ended up having to eat a ham sandwich for dinner instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
This turned out great! I made rice to go with it and added some of the currants and cloves while it steamed in chicken broth. With some toasted almonds on top it made a wonderful accompaniment to the chicken. Next time I want to try this in the slow cooker and really let the flavors soak in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEPPER11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
All I can say is...WOW! I didn't have currants on hand, so I subst. raisins and subst. orange blossom water (available at most Arabic grocery stores) for rose water. My husband couldn't stop raving about this! A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
Absolutely superb!! I was unable to find currents and instead substituted blueberries. It turned out very nice and was a definite crowd pleaser!! Just wouldn't recommend eating the fruit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States