Sixteen Bean Sour Cream Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
My family loves this soup! When I have the time I do cook it for a little while longer (because I think all bean soup gets better the longer it cooks). Otherwise I cook it exactly as the recipe calls for and it comes out fantastic everytime!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This is very simple and very tasty! I did follow another reviewer's suggestion to soak the beans overnight and that helped ensure they were cooked all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mpls_Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
No biggie using dried beans. It simply takes time/ planning to soak. I chop sandwich meat ham and cook it w/o the sour cream so I can freeze some easily. We just stir sour cream in each bowlful. True, it's an unappealing color but tastes great enough to remain on our favorites list. Serve with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt star

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Graceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2001
This was really good with homemade cornbread on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
OK, what's everyone's problems with cooking dried beans??? I make some kind of bean soup every week though I usually use navy or pinto beans or both together. I rinse & check the beans for foreign matter, takes less than a minute. Then I cover the beans with water so that it's 2 inches over the beans. Bring to a boil, then turn down to a simmer & cover. Takes about 2 1/2 hours to cook pintos, maybe half an hour less for navy beans. I never ever bothered with the soaking or boiling for 2 minutes and waiting an hour or any of that unnecessary stuff. (However, if you have gas problems from eating beans, it might help if you do that, as described by BugsNRoo.) And if you can't be bothered with or plain old just don't have time to cook dried beans, then just open some canned ones, rinse and drain them and stop whining. Wanda, you have been treated poorly! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Sheets

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
5 Stars for easy and tasty!! If you like bean soups, this one is soooo simple to make. I followed recipe exactly and it turned out great. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blessedmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
loved the addition of the cream corn and sour cream from other recipes I have tried. The Hubs gave it rave reviews. Make sure you soak the beans for an hour before you make the soup though. I used a smoked ham hock while the beans were cooking then took it out and chopped it up when I added the sour cream and corn. Perfect dinner on a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This was the first time I made a 16 bean soup, and my husband and I thought it turned out suprisingly good. I followed the directions on the bag of beans for sorting, rinsing, quick soak, and cooking. 30 minutes before beans finished cooking, I added the spice packet that came with bag and also 1 lb of cooked ham, 1 can of diced tomatoes, 1 chopped onion, 4 cloves minced garlic (because we love garlic, otherwise 1 clove), and 1 cup sour cream. I liked how the sour cream idea from this recipe added a little more rich flavor instead of just a water only based soup. Maybe next time will try with the cream corn too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
4 stars because the recipe submitter forgot to add that you need to do some sort of soak before you use dried beans. Although I'm sure most home cooks know to do a soak! I did a quick soak first, where I covered the beans in water, brought to a boil, took off the heat, and let them sit covered for an hour. Then I drained the water and rinsed them and started cooking. I used ham hocks which helped flavor the soup, but I probably had much less ham in my soup than called for. That was my only change to the recipe. My husband loved the soup! I thought the sour cream gave it a nice creamy texture, and it felt good eating it on a cold day. It was simple and it didn't take a lot of time to make. I will be making this soup again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This was good and full of protein. I omited the ham because I am not much of a meat eater. Still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States