Sixteen Bean Sour Cream Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2001
This was really good with homemade cornbread on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
This was okay, but I probably won't make it again. The color was not very appealing once I added the sour cream. I was looking for a comfort food type dish, but this didn't quite make it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This was good and full of protein. I omited the ham because I am not much of a meat eater. Still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Taste was a 4, but I reduced it for hassle/time factor. I just think it would have been so much easier to open several cans of beans and add some spices. It looks innocently simple, but working with dried beans I think is just a pain. Beans will NOT cook by boiling and simmering for an hour or two. I have to boil them, soak them overnight, and then simmer them for quite some time the next day. My mother had to do this, my brother too. Are we the only three people who can't make dried beans ready in 2-3 hours? Or does everyone else just like hard beans? I know what boil and simmer mean, and this just doesn't work. And they'll never get by on 6 cups of water. I don't know how much I added but I lost count at about 11-12 cups. When the beans were about 3/4 done, I drained them and just covered in water, added the flavor packet and the ham itself to help add flavor. And then added water as needed to get a thickish soup that still had flavor. It was pretty good once it was done, which was a full day. (That doesn't include the time going through the beans, which I always do since I *have* found rocks in them.) I had doubts about the sour cream, but think it just made it better. But I won't be making again any time soon. There's plenty of easier bean soups out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
4 stars because the recipe submitter forgot to add that you need to do some sort of soak before you use dried beans. Although I'm sure most home cooks know to do a soak! I did a quick soak first, where I covered the beans in water, brought to a boil, took off the heat, and let them sit covered for an hour. Then I drained the water and rinsed them and started cooking. I used ham hocks which helped flavor the soup, but I probably had much less ham in my soup than called for. That was my only change to the recipe. My husband loved the soup! I thought the sour cream gave it a nice creamy texture, and it felt good eating it on a cold day. It was simple and it didn't take a lot of time to make. I will be making this soup again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
OK, what's everyone's problems with cooking dried beans??? I make some kind of bean soup every week though I usually use navy or pinto beans or both together. I rinse & check the beans for foreign matter, takes less than a minute. Then I cover the beans with water so that it's 2 inches over the beans. Bring to a boil, then turn down to a simmer & cover. Takes about 2 1/2 hours to cook pintos, maybe half an hour less for navy beans. I never ever bothered with the soaking or boiling for 2 minutes and waiting an hour or any of that unnecessary stuff. (However, if you have gas problems from eating beans, it might help if you do that, as described by BugsNRoo.) And if you can't be bothered with or plain old just don't have time to cook dried beans, then just open some canned ones, rinse and drain them and stop whining. Wanda, you have been treated poorly! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Sheets

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
5 Stars for easy and tasty!! If you like bean soups, this one is soooo simple to make. I followed recipe exactly and it turned out great. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blessedmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This was the first time I made a 16 bean soup, and my husband and I thought it turned out suprisingly good. I followed the directions on the bag of beans for sorting, rinsing, quick soak, and cooking. 30 minutes before beans finished cooking, I added the spice packet that came with bag and also 1 lb of cooked ham, 1 can of diced tomatoes, 1 chopped onion, 4 cloves minced garlic (because we love garlic, otherwise 1 clove), and 1 cup sour cream. I liked how the sour cream idea from this recipe added a little more rich flavor instead of just a water only based soup. Maybe next time will try with the cream corn too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
My family loves this soup! When I have the time I do cook it for a little while longer (because I think all bean soup gets better the longer it cooks). Otherwise I cook it exactly as the recipe calls for and it comes out fantastic everytime!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This is very simple and very tasty! I did follow another reviewer's suggestion to soak the beans overnight and that helped ensure they were cooked all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mpls_Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States