Sixteen Bean Sour Cream Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This was wonderful and very easy. Not sure why some people have such a problem. Sorted and soaked the beans overnight. Drained and added part water and part chicken broth.8 cups of liquid is a little much. Would cut it down to about 6 cups. I did not use the cream corn. I was afraid it would make it too sweet. Did not add the sour cream to the pot but added to individual bowls. This very flavorful and filling. Perfect for chilly days. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
loved the addition of the cream corn and sour cream from other recipes I have tried. The Hubs gave it rave reviews. Make sure you soak the beans for an hour before you make the soup though. I used a smoked ham hock while the beans were cooking then took it out and chopped it up when I added the sour cream and corn. Perfect dinner on a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This was ok, a little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Okay but not a chest pounding soup. Used Bob’s Red Mill 13 Bean Soup Mix since it was on hand - - didn’t think losing 3 beans was a deal breaker since one bean was lost between the title and ingredient list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
No biggie using dried beans. It simply takes time/ planning to soak. I chop sandwich meat ham and cook it w/o the sour cream so I can freeze some easily. We just stir sour cream in each bowlful. True, it's an unappealing color but tastes great enough to remain on our favorites list. Serve with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt star

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Graceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This is very simple and very tasty! I did follow another reviewer's suggestion to soak the beans overnight and that helped ensure they were cooked all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mpls_Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
My family loves this soup! When I have the time I do cook it for a little while longer (because I think all bean soup gets better the longer it cooks). Otherwise I cook it exactly as the recipe calls for and it comes out fantastic everytime!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This was the first time I made a 16 bean soup, and my husband and I thought it turned out suprisingly good. I followed the directions on the bag of beans for sorting, rinsing, quick soak, and cooking. 30 minutes before beans finished cooking, I added the spice packet that came with bag and also 1 lb of cooked ham, 1 can of diced tomatoes, 1 chopped onion, 4 cloves minced garlic (because we love garlic, otherwise 1 clove), and 1 cup sour cream. I liked how the sour cream idea from this recipe added a little more rich flavor instead of just a water only based soup. Maybe next time will try with the cream corn too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
5 Stars for easy and tasty!! If you like bean soups, this one is soooo simple to make. I followed recipe exactly and it turned out great. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blessedmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
OK, what's everyone's problems with cooking dried beans??? I make some kind of bean soup every week though I usually use navy or pinto beans or both together. I rinse & check the beans for foreign matter, takes less than a minute. Then I cover the beans with water so that it's 2 inches over the beans. Bring to a boil, then turn down to a simmer & cover. Takes about 2 1/2 hours to cook pintos, maybe half an hour less for navy beans. I never ever bothered with the soaking or boiling for 2 minutes and waiting an hour or any of that unnecessary stuff. (However, if you have gas problems from eating beans, it might help if you do that, as described by BugsNRoo.) And if you can't be bothered with or plain old just don't have time to cook dried beans, then just open some canned ones, rinse and drain them and stop whining. Wanda, you have been treated poorly! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Sheets

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States