Sixteen Bean Sour Cream Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
4 stars because the recipe submitter forgot to add that you need to do some sort of soak before you use dried beans. Although I'm sure most home cooks know to do a soak! I did a quick soak first, where I covered the beans in water, brought to a boil, took off the heat, and let them sit covered for an hour. Then I drained the water and rinsed them and started cooking. I used ham hocks which helped flavor the soup, but I probably had much less ham in my soup than called for. That was my only change to the recipe. My husband loved the soup! I thought the sour cream gave it a nice creamy texture, and it felt good eating it on a cold day. It was simple and it didn't take a lot of time to make. I will be making this soup again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
OK, what's everyone's problems with cooking dried beans??? I make some kind of bean soup every week though I usually use navy or pinto beans or both together. I rinse & check the beans for foreign matter, takes less than a minute. Then I cover the beans with water so that it's 2 inches over the beans. Bring to a boil, then turn down to a simmer & cover. Takes about 2 1/2 hours to cook pintos, maybe half an hour less for navy beans. I never ever bothered with the soaking or boiling for 2 minutes and waiting an hour or any of that unnecessary stuff. (However, if you have gas problems from eating beans, it might help if you do that, as described by BugsNRoo.) And if you can't be bothered with or plain old just don't have time to cook dried beans, then just open some canned ones, rinse and drain them and stop whining. Wanda, you have been treated poorly! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Sheets

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This was the first time I made a 16 bean soup, and my husband and I thought it turned out suprisingly good. I followed the directions on the bag of beans for sorting, rinsing, quick soak, and cooking. 30 minutes before beans finished cooking, I added the spice packet that came with bag and also 1 lb of cooked ham, 1 can of diced tomatoes, 1 chopped onion, 4 cloves minced garlic (because we love garlic, otherwise 1 clove), and 1 cup sour cream. I liked how the sour cream idea from this recipe added a little more rich flavor instead of just a water only based soup. Maybe next time will try with the cream corn too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Okay but not a chest pounding soup. Used Bob’s Red Mill 13 Bean Soup Mix since it was on hand - - didn’t think losing 3 beans was a deal breaker since one bean was lost between the title and ingredient list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
No biggie using dried beans. It simply takes time/ planning to soak. I chop sandwich meat ham and cook it w/o the sour cream so I can freeze some easily. We just stir sour cream in each bowlful. True, it's an unappealing color but tastes great enough to remain on our favorites list. Serve with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt star

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Graceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This is very simple and very tasty! I did follow another reviewer's suggestion to soak the beans overnight and that helped ensure they were cooked all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mpls_Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2001
This was really good with homemade cornbread on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Taste was a 4, but I reduced it for hassle/time factor. I just think it would have been so much easier to open several cans of beans and add some spices. It looks innocently simple, but working with dried beans I think is just a pain. Beans will NOT cook by boiling and simmering for an hour or two. I have to boil them, soak them overnight, and then simmer them for quite some time the next day. My mother had to do this, my brother too. Are we the only three people who can't make dried beans ready in 2-3 hours? Or does everyone else just like hard beans? I know what boil and simmer mean, and this just doesn't work. And they'll never get by on 6 cups of water. I don't know how much I added but I lost count at about 11-12 cups. When the beans were about 3/4 done, I drained them and just covered in water, added the flavor packet and the ham itself to help add flavor. And then added water as needed to get a thickish soup that still had flavor. It was pretty good once it was done, which was a full day. (That doesn't include the time going through the beans, which I always do since I *have* found rocks in them.) I had doubts about the sour cream, but think it just made it better. But I won't be making again any time soon. There's plenty of easier bean soups out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This was good and full of protein. I omited the ham because I am not much of a meat eater. Still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
5 Stars for easy and tasty!! If you like bean soups, this one is soooo simple to make. I followed recipe exactly and it turned out great. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blessedmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States