Six Week Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Very good! I scaled the recipe to 54 servings, which used about a 16-oz box of All Bran and kept it to simplified 1/2 and 1/4 cup measurements instead of 1/3 c. + 1 Tbsp, etc... I used coconut oil instead of shortening and they smelled heavenly while baking! Looking forward to whipping up more batches from the leftover batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I can't believe I tried other recipes after I used this one. This has to be one of the best homemade bran muffins. I halved the recipe and finished it in about a week. It's really nice to make fresh muffins when you want without all the mixing each and every time. I just have to make sure I have room in my fridge for the big bowl :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I have made many versions of this over the years and this is by far the best. Perfect texture on the inside and lightly crispy around the edges on the outside. Absolutely wonderful! I'm going to try with raisons or nuts next time, but really great just as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
These muffins are fantastic! I cut the recipe down to 36 servings, which made just under 3 dozen muffins for me. I only used 2/3 of the sugar called for and they were still plenty sweet for me. I also used butter instead of shortening. I never thought a bran muffin could taste so good - even my 2 little picky eaters love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I love having this in the fridge to make when ever I need muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cnystel
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I received this recipe, along w/ a bowl of mix and a few cooked muffins to give me any idea of what they tasted like. I made it for the first time myself. I didn't have a large enough bowl - but didn't know that until it came time to combine the dry and wet ingredients. I ended up using the pan from my roaster oven! Because it made so much, I bagged up the mix in gallon sized ziploc bags, cooked several muffins and distributed them around my neighborhood along with the recipe. I add nuts, craisins and chopped/peeled apples to the batch I intend to cook - at the time I am going to cook them. I also use mini-muffin pans. They are done in 11-12 minutes - depending on if you like a soft outer edge or a crispier, browner crust. I found by using a small cookie/ice-cream scoop, I get a perfect measurement in the mini-muffin pan - and they rise beautifully. My husband and my great nephew loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnystel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
My mom made these for me when I was little and now I am enjoying making these for my family too. This is my go to bran muffin recipe, but except we stir in the buttermilk with the bran cereal after adding the flour. So good and it easily halves or quarters for smaller batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe. My Mom made these when I was a kid and I was so happy to find it on here. I make them using butter instead of shortening, and 2% milk because I can't tell the difference if buttermilk is used. It's so nice to have the batter on hand and ready for use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
My family can't get enough of this. I always have the batter on hand. It is excellent plain or with add ins. My favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
AWESOME!!!!!!! I made 1/2 recipe, and AFTER the first dozen it fit in a gallon pitcher. I omitted the shortening, and used 1 can applejuice concentrate and 1 cup sugar instead of the 4.5 cups sugar in the 108 serving version. I used 6 cups wheat bran and 3 cups oat bran and whole wheat flour. this is something I can feel good about the kids eating no matter how many they grab! I made a second dozen, and stirred a handful of blueberries into each cup. Very nice. I think I have found my new favorite muffin recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States