Six Week Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This is a pretty good recipe. I add a bit more salt to mine and cut the serving size to72. I found that canola oil can replace the shortening and I feel much better using that. I add the oil to the bran mixture after it has sat awhile and then mix in the rest of the bran, eggs, sugar, and buttermilk. Then add sifted dry ingredients. Because the leavener used is baking soda (which requires an acid to work), it is important to use the buttermilk. I think raisin bran cereal works well in these. Finally, I only need to bake mine at 400* for 20 minutes. (Still, my favorite bran muffins are the Classic Bran Muffins on this site.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I got this recipe from my mom many years ago, and they're the best bran muffins ever. Her recipe was 1/3 this size and much more manageable for a smaller family (uses a quart of buttermilk). I usually use half whole wheat flour, half white, and I sometimes add raisins or blueberries. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Bice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reedley, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
We love it! I added blueberries and flaxseeds just before baking. So good, even my fussy kids love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I adjusted this for 24 servings and then misread the recipe and did not add the separate large batch of bran cereal; I was thinking how odd that the amount of bran was so small. Ha!! I also had to use flaxseed for the egg (ran out today) and I added 1 tsp of vanilla and 3/4 tsp of cinnamon. The muffins were dense but very tasty! I know my kids will gobble them up. I will definitely remake this recipe and add the correct amount of cereal. The cinnamon really shines and I was surprised it wasn't included in the ingredients. Appears to be a versatile recipe...pumpkin spice would probably be a nice addition in fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Very good! I scaled the recipe to 54 servings, which used about a 16-oz box of All Bran and kept it to simplified 1/2 and 1/4 cup measurements instead of 1/3 c. + 1 Tbsp, etc... I used coconut oil instead of shortening and they smelled heavenly while baking! Looking forward to whipping up more batches from the leftover batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I can't believe I tried other recipes after I used this one. This has to be one of the best homemade bran muffins. I halved the recipe and finished it in about a week. It's really nice to make fresh muffins when you want without all the mixing each and every time. I just have to make sure I have room in my fridge for the big bowl :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I have made many versions of this over the years and this is by far the best. Perfect texture on the inside and lightly crispy around the edges on the outside. Absolutely wonderful! I'm going to try with raisons or nuts next time, but really great just as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
These muffins are fantastic! I cut the recipe down to 36 servings, which made just under 3 dozen muffins for me. I only used 2/3 of the sugar called for and they were still plenty sweet for me. I also used butter instead of shortening. I never thought a bran muffin could taste so good - even my 2 little picky eaters love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I love having this in the fridge to make when ever I need muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cnystel
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I received this recipe, along w/ a bowl of mix and a few cooked muffins to give me any idea of what they tasted like. I made it for the first time myself. I didn't have a large enough bowl - but didn't know that until it came time to combine the dry and wet ingredients. I ended up using the pan from my roaster oven! Because it made so much, I bagged up the mix in gallon sized ziploc bags, cooked several muffins and distributed them around my neighborhood along with the recipe. I add nuts, craisins and chopped/peeled apples to the batch I intend to cook - at the time I am going to cook them. I also use mini-muffin pans. They are done in 11-12 minutes - depending on if you like a soft outer edge or a crispier, browner crust. I found by using a small cookie/ice-cream scoop, I get a perfect measurement in the mini-muffin pan - and they rise beautifully. My husband and my great nephew loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnystel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States