Six Week Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
These are so very delicious. And healthful. So perfect for the mornings when you don't have time to whip up a batch of muffins- they are all ready, waiting in the fridge. We experimented with all kinds of fruit- from craisins to apples. One thing- they are even yummier after the batter has been in the refrigerator for a day or two. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
A very good bran muffin recipe. I used 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 butter. I also used Whole wheat flour and 1/2 bran flour for a healthier version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Blossom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I used half the amount of butter, substituting apple sauce for the other half, and they turned out so well. The batter never lasts long enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
20 minutes is much, much too long in the oven at that temperature. Mine took 15 minutes. I used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar. . .also decreased the total amount of sugar by about 1/4 cup. I made about 3 dozen muffins and will freeze most of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I scaled this recipe back the first time I tried them, but when the weather cools down I will definitely make a whole batch of batter to keep some on hand for chilly mornings. My husband loves bran muffins and he said these were the best he's ever had. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Just like my mom made when I was little. And I love having the batter in the fridge so I can make more whenever I want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
First off, do NOT try to cream the fat & sugar with the buttermilk. What a mess! Cream the fat & sugar. Then mix in the egg(s) and THEN stir in the buttermilk. Also, this never says what size of muffin tin is a 'serving' which completely changes your baking time. That being said....I really love the taste of these muffins! I think for anyone who said they were bland, I think it's because of the type of cereal they used. I substituted the shortening with 1/2 applesauce & 1/2 butter. I used raisin bran cereal and threw in a tablespoon of vanilla extract with the buttermilk (which really was 1 Tablespoon lemon juice to 1 cup of skim milk because I didn't have buttermilk). Half wheat flour, half all purpose. I changed this to 36 servings (which really turned out to be 24 on a regular sized muffin tin). I baked them for 18 minutes. They turned out perfect. Thankfully the next time I won't follow the directions blindly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
At high altitude of 7,000 ft, mine worked better at 375 degree F for 30 min. I also added some little carrot sticks. Wonderful! bd in Ruidoso
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
What a disappointment after all the rave reviews! I would describe the flavour as bland. Unfortunately I have some leftover batter I may try adding some coffee to add some flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Pretty good. I made a few changes though. I used Raisin Bran for the cereal. I used regular skim milk, cinnamon, extra raisins and applesauce instead of the oil. They are very moist. I scaled the recipe down too. One thing the recipe doesnt mention is whether you are to grease the muffins pan or use liners. If you dont use liners, make sure to grease the pan. They do stick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States