Six Week Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Great recipe for me, I'm a habitual cereal waster. Mine baked fast less than 20 min, could be a smaller pan? Next batch I'll try a lower temp and a bit less time and go from there. 400 deg and 15 min worked perfect. I scale the recipe down to 36. I've tried replacing all the shortening with the applesauce and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I really didn't like this recipe. I wanted the traditional looking bran muffin. these were white. I made the recipe in half but the taste was NOT what I was looking for. wont make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
These were good, but I should have paid more attention to how much batter this makes! I cut it in half, cooked about 18 muffins, and STILL had enough batter to fill a gallon pitcher (which I really don't have room for in my fridge... sigh). That said, these are tasty muffins, although to me they just taste exactly like bran cereal... in muffin form. Nothing exceptional. Since I love bran cereal, that's good for me. My husband was less thrilled but still eats them. With kids, I like the covenience of being able to keep the batter on hand, although next time I will not make so much! I also cut the sugar waaay back (by a few cups), added one cup of honey, and these were plenty sweet. Used some applesauce and some shortening, and part whole wheat/part white flour. Like I said, nothing to rave about, but a good standard muffin that definitely keeps well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This was highly rated and completely lived up to the expectations. Best bran muffins I've ever had!! I did 36 servings and did substitute a little bit of molasses and did half butter/half applesauce like someone suggested. Seriously very good, thanks Dee for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
These are great just mix up and you can make one or two in the AM. Fresh morning goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRINITY7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Batter was very thin and gloppy but they baked up nicely. I used a bit of vanilla, and added more cereal than called for (Kellog's All Bran Buds). I will try adding some molasses next time. I used chopped dried apricots and pecans this time. Slightly rubbery after freezing (which I do right after baking with all my muffins), which is why it got 4 rather than 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
These are the best bran muffins I have ever tasted! It is an awesome recipe! I love that it keeps in the fridge too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Ok - but I could definitely tell these weren't made with real bran. Don't compare to my Grandmother's bran muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
These taste really good. I don't even like bran muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Nice recipe. I used part high fiber cereal and part granola, and replaced shortening with applesauce. I also adjusted the recipe to make 18 muffins. Good base to work from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Johnston

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States