Six Week Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
I have made these multiple times. They are moist and not too sweet. They're great for breakfast on a busy morning. I usually make the batter and let it sit for a day before baking. It seems the longer the batter sits, the better the muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
My mom used to make these when I was a kid so I came to the site searching for this exact recipe. They are excellent muffins and just how I remembered them! I do add a little extra buttermilk after the batter has been sitting in the fridge awhile or I find they get a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
I've been trying literally dozens of bran muffin recipes lately trying to find a favorite and so far this is it. I skipped the whole step involving breaking up the bran cereal into two parts and just crushed up all of it at once into the boiling water. I also scaled this down to 12 servings and made giant "texas muffins". YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
Wonderful!!! I did add Molasses the first time I made them. The second time I added honey and vanilla ( ran out of molasses). Even those at work who say they do not like bran muffins, LOVE this recipe. Extremely easy to make, and versatile. You can add just about any dried fruit to it and they come out even better!!!! We have tried raisins, cranberries, and even dried mango and apricots... Yumm mm Yummmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
When makeing this adjusted for 36 muffins, I exchanged oil (canola) for the shortening and used only 1 cup sugar. It was sweet enough for me and the oil is a better choice. No trans fats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
For those of you who are wheat intolerant, I used Heritage Flakes by Nature's Path and they turned out wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
This is the same muffin recipe that my grandmother has had and used for more than 40 years! I hope you all love and enjoy them as much as my family does. Thank you for posting this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
Very good, althought they didn't rise all that much. I overfilled a few of the muffin cups and the edges burned with the high temp of the oven. I also sized the recipe down to 3 dozen. Overall great recipe for bran muffins. Nice and moist, not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLETURTLE30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Note - I rated it 4 stars just because I have not tried it just like written yet. I made a very similar recipe, only I substitute molasses for half of the sugar amount. It adds a great rich flavor and moistness to the muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States