Six Threes Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Okay...I'll admit, I totally screwed this recipe up by accidentally adding 3 cups of orange juice!!! OOPS!!! Even doing that, it was DELICIOUS! (I did have to finally freeze it as it would not freeze in the Cuisinart ice cream maker.) Any recipe that you can screw up that bad and STILL turn out well deserves more than 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
This is really refreshing and takes *no* effort. Somebody ate one of the bananas I intended to use, so I cut back the recipe to "Six two's", which still was enough to fill my Cuisinart ice cream maker twice. I used a blender so the bananas would be mixed in well, and used half and half for part of the cream. On the second batch, I added a splash of coconut extract and some orange zest. We liked it better that way; next time will try lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
This is an awesome recipe! So refreshing! I received this recipe from a friend over 30 years ago! It has been a favorite in my family all these years! I've never run across it anywhere until now! The name of the recipe makes it so easy to remember how to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
This is the best ice cream in the world! A friend shared this recipe with me a long time ago, and said it was best made with peaches. She was right! It's also great with strawberries, or blackberries. Just substitute the bananas with 3 cups of your favorite fruit -- it's sure to be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Murphy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
This is a great recipe. I got it when I moved to a new town and one of the women at church always made it for the annual ice cream dinner. It's easy and tastes great. I use 6 cups of half and half, but otherwise, just as the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
I tried this and it was wonderful. My husband loves ice cream and he went crazy over this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
Delicious! Not too sweet, with a nice orangy tang. My family and guests all enjoyed it. No need to carry the ingredient list to the grocery store - it is easy to remember!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
My husband said this was the best ice cream he had ever eaten...and we are ice cream fanatics. I made this as six twos and still had a little bit too much for my smaller ice cream freezer, so I just poured the rest into a plastic container with a lid and stuck it in the freezer. Both batches turned out great. Also the juice from the oranges and lemons combined to make about 6 oz. of juice. So if I'm really short on time I can buy fresh juice at the grocery store instead of squeezing my own. Thanks for a yummy new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
The easiest ice cream recipe ever! I made Six 2s and used the 6oz juice formula given in the reviews (4oz store oj & 2oz fresh lemon juice from 2 medium sized lemons). I will try peaches next. Thanks for this yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
OH MY GOSH! This is just so refreshing and delicious -- there just aren't words. I had to half it because my ice cream freezer doesn't do two quarts but it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States