Six Threes Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
It's undescribable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Until now I've had very rigid thinking that ice cream has to start with a cooked egg custard in order for it to be top-notch. Not so here. I resisted the urge to add egg yolks as I usually do, basically as an experiment, and I was pleasantly surprised! This is some creamy ice cream! And what an unusual flavor--not quite banana, not quite citrus, but a recognizable, delicious blend of the two. With no cooked custard involved, this was a snap to make. I made this in six 1's in order to fit my Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker, adding an extra half banana, and used 2 parts cream to 1 part half and half. To ensure the best results, once mixed, refrigerate for several hours before churning. I'm so glad I tried this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Wonderful recipe. The flavor of the banana is dominant with the orange and lemon juice adding a nice tartness. I followed another reviewers advice and used six 2's and like her I had too much for my countertop freezer. Could six 1 1/2's work? I wonder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Good recipe. I made it with peaches instead of bananas, and I think it needed less lemon that way. It was still good, though, and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
LOVE this recipe. Super easy to throw together and the taste was wonderful. Made it for dessert after a mexican meal and it was refreshing and light. All the guests loved it so much that we didn't have any leftovers. I did add just about a tsp of orange extract as suggested. Served it with blueberries on top. I might try to add just a little orange zest the next time I make it. I think this will be a regular summer dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
really good recipe. ok, I switched a few things here to, but just to make it easier. And I have one kid that won't eat bananas. So I did 6 X 2 and still had 2 batches for my machine. I added cut up strawberries for one batch and blended the mix in a blender to make stawberry icecream for the second batch. I used skim milk because thats what we have and used the juice because again thats what we had. It came out great. really suprised at the blending made that much flavor difference but it did. Both where good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I made this ice cream to use up some fresh peaches I had on hand. I used this recipe because I'm pregnant and cannot consume raw eggs and this recipe fit the bill. When I was removing the ice cream from the ice cream maker I tasted it before transferring it to the freezer and was very happy with the flavour. Unfortunately, once the ice cream froze thoroughly, it was like a brick! Very difficult to scoop like ice cream and the texture was very flaky. So in the end, the flavour was really nice, but the texture and consistency were way off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
a refreshing taste on a hot day. a keeper thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I made some adjustments for my 6 quart ice cream maker. I wanted to make strawberry ice cream so I pureed 2 lbs of strawberries in my blender and did 3 Fours, i.e. 4 cups each - milk, 1/2 & 1/2 and sugar and then added the pureed strawberries to the mix. It was perfect and fed 17 people. If everyone would have taken the same amount, it would have fed 15 people easy. Great easy recipe and a real crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbury, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
OH MY GOSH! This is just so refreshing and delicious -- there just aren't words. I had to half it because my ice cream freezer doesn't do two quarts but it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States