Six Threes Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
My grandkids had fun "churning" this in my "hand crank" one quart Donvier ice cream maker. Of course the recipe had to be reduced to Six Ones, as others have suggested. Otherwise, the only change I made was to add some of the orange and lemon zest for extra citrus flavor. We served ours in waffle bowls for an extra treat. Granddaughter isn't crazy about bananas. She wasn't aware of them lurking in the mixture as I had made it ahead. She took a bite or two, got a puzzled look on her face, asked if there was banana in the ice cream and proceeded to devour it. I may try fresh peaches or strawberries another time. I also like another reviewer's suggestion to replace a small amount of sugar with a bit of corn syrup to help maintain the original creaminess of this recipe after freezing. Although when making a quart, truthfully, there are not a lot of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Loved this ice cream!! My friends were quite impressed. The mixture of flavors are amazing!! Did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was super easy to make (I used 6 "2s"); I put everything in the blender and blended, then poured into an ice cream maker. Flavor was good, although my husband thought it was too banana-y, and I might would cut it down to 1, next time. Also, it was TOO sugary; I thought it was eating a bowl of sugar. As I was reading the recipe, I thought it seemed too much, but my husband says I can never follow a recipe, so I figured I should stick with it;-p Next time, I would cut the sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Wow! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This is a pretty good fruit ice cream. Easy to make. I did 'one sixes' in order to fit my kitchenaid ice cream maker. Take note that the order of ingredients is crucial. The first time I made it I added the cream after other ingredients by mistake and the fat separated and it didn't work. Second time round, I whipped the sugar (subtracted a few tablespoons from what called for so that it wouldn't be too sweet) and cream for about two minutes, blended the fruit juices and banana and added them after the milk. the result is a creamy texture, refreshing fruit ice cream. I find the taste pretty good but not superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This was easy and it did have a different and unusual flavor. My family gave it mixed reviews,though. One son loved it and finished the whole batch practically single -handedly over a few days. Husband and other son had a small serving each and didn't want any more. Good if you like fruity flavors but dissapointing for those who like a more traditional taste ( chocolatey,nutty etc)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARLA11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Shepherdsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Really great recipe. Made this to accompany my husband's lemon pound cake. I halved the recipe so that my Cuisinart ice cream maker could accommodate it. I used a mini food processor to blend the bananas first to prevent any pulp problems... Also added a pinch of lemon and orange extract for some extra citrus zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I've made this recipe before, many years ago. It was a huge hit with everyone. I think it's time to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This ice cream is delicious. I used two of everything and it still did not all fit in my Cuisanart ice cream maker, in fact only about half fit in. It's a week later and the texture is still great-did not get too hard at all. At first I thought the banana flavor was too strong but as it sat in the freezer it seemed to get toned down. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
The BEST Ice cream we've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States